Denver, CO Consumer Law

Denver, Colorado 80202

Colorado Flag

Welcome to

We offer free tools and information to help Colorado consumers assert their rights under state and federal laws. 

We cover Bankruptcy, Probate & Inheritance LawUnemployment BenefitsWage & Hour Laws, and Democracy & Voting Rights.

Access to Justice for Colorado Consumers has been providing free tools and information to Colorado consumers since 2006. Our seasoned lawyer editors have been translating legalese into plain English for over 35 years.

Free Tools and Information for Denver, CO Consumers

Colorado Inheritance Law & Probate Procedure

  • How Probate Works in Colorado: How to handle the probate of an inheritance at Denver County's probate court.
  • Small Estates Procedures in Colorado: Learn how to use Colorado's Small Estate procedures that can save you time and money.
    • In Colorado, there's an Affidavit procedure for estates that are less than $70,000. This limit only applies to assets that would otherwise pass through probate, so excludes all joint tenancy property and all assets that pass by beneficiary designation, like life insurance and payable on death accounts. There is a ten-day waiting period.

      You can get the forms required here.

      Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. 15-12-1201

      There's also a summary probate procedure for estates whose value is less than the value of personal property held by the decedent as trustee (so living trust assets don't count), exempt property allowance, family allowance, costs of administration, funeral expenses, and medical expenses for last illness.

      Colo. Rev. Stat. Ann. 15-12-1203

  • Colorado Estate Taxes:
    • Colorado, like most states, does not impose an estate or inheritance tax. Only a few states do.

  • Avoiding Probate in Colorado. Find out what property bypasses probate death and goes directly to beneficiaries. such as:

Colorado Wage & Hour Law

  • Colorado Minimum Wage:  
    • The minimum wage in Colorado is $14.42 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in Colorado must be paid at least $14.42 an hour. 

      Denver County Minimum Wage

      The minimum wage in Denver County is $14.42 an hour, the state minimum wage. To find out if Denver County has passed its own minimum wage law, visit

      Denver Minimum Wage

      In the city of Denver, the minimum wage is currently $18.29 an hour. 

  • Overtime Pay: Every state has rules about weekly maximum hours and overtime. Learn about the overtime laws in Colorado and whether they apply to you.
  • Wage Claims: If you're being unlawfully underpaid, you need to learn how to file a "Wage Claim" in Colorado. 
  • Tips : Every state has special pay rates for tipped workers. Find out the rules for tipped workers in Colorado.
    • In Colorado, your employer may pay you a minimum wage of $11.40 an hour, as long as you earn enough in tips to bring your total hourly pay up to the full minimum wage, $14.42 an hour. If you don’t earn enough in tips to bring your compensation to the full minimum wage, your employer must make up the difference. 

Bankruptcy & Debt

Colorado Unemployment Benefits

Democracy In Colorado, Denver County, Denver 

Find a Lawyer in Denver, CO