Mount Clemens, MI Consumer Law

 
Mount Clemens, Michigan 48043
@
Law:

 
Michigan Flag
 

Welcome to LegalConsumer.com

We offer free tools and information to help Michigan consumers assert their rights under state and federal laws. 

We cover Bankruptcy, Probate & Inheritance LawUnemployment BenefitsWage & Hour Laws, Obamacare (ACA -Affordable Care Act), Child Custody Law, and Democracy & Voting Rights.

Access to Justice for Michigan Consumers

LegalConsumer.com has been providing free tools and information to Michigan consumers since 2006. Our seasoned lawyer editors have been translating legalese into plain English for over 35 years.



Tools and Resources for Mount Clemens, MI Consumers

Michigan Inheritance Law & Probate Procedure

  • Michigan PROBATE COURT FINDER:
  • How Probate Works in Michigan: How to handle the probate of an inheritance at Macomb County's probate court.
  • Small Estates Procedures in Michigan: Learn how to use Michigan's Small Estate procedures that can save you time and money.
    • In Michigan  you can use an Affidavit if the estate does not include real property and the value of the entire estate, less liens and encumbrances, is less than $24,000 (adjusted for inflation).  There is a 28-day waiting period.

      Mich. Comp. Laws 700.3983.

      There is also a summary probate procedure for estates with a value of $15,000 or less, after payment of funeral and burial costs, or if the value of the entire estate, less liens or encumbrances, doesn't exceed the homestead allowance, exempt property, family allowance, and costs of administration, funeral expenses, and last illness expenses.

      Mich. Comp. Laws 700.3987.

  • Michigan Estate Taxes:
    • Michigan, like most states, does not impose an estate or inheritance tax. Only a few states do.

  • Avoiding Probate in Michigan. Find out what property bypasses probate death and goes directly to beneficiaries. such as:

Michigan Wage & Hour Law

  • Michigan Minimum Wage:  
    • The minimum wage in Michigan is $10.33 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in The Wolverine State must be paid at least $10.33 an hour. 

      Macomb County Minimum Wage

      The minimum wage in Macomb County is $10.33 an hour, the state minimum wage. Michigan law prohibits city and county governments from adopting a local minimum wage that's higher than the state minimum wage. 

  • Overtime Pay: Every state has rules about weekly maximum hours and overtime. Learn about the overtime laws in Michigan and whether they apply to you.
  • Wage Claims: If you're being unlawfully underpaid, you need to learn how to file a "Wage Claim" in Michigan. 
  • Tips : Every state has special pay rates for tipped workers. Find out the rules for tipped workers in Michigan.
    • In Michigan, your employer may pay you a minimum wage of $3.93 an hour, as long as you earn enough in tips to bring your total hourly pay up to the full minimum wage, $10.33 an hour. If you don’t earn enough in tips to bring your compensation to the full minimum wage, your employer must make up the difference.

  • State Labor Board:

Michigan Unemployment Benefits


Bankruptcy & Debt


Child Custody & Family Courts in Michigan 


Michigan Obamacare


Democracy In Michigan, Macomb County, Mount Clemens 


Find a Lawyer in Mount Clemens, MI