Mecklenburg County, NC Consumer Law

 
Charlotte, North Carolina 28201
@
Law:

 
North Carolina Flag
 

Welcome to LegalConsumer.com

We offer free tools and information to help North Carolina consumers assert their rights under state and federal laws. 

We cover Bankruptcy, Probate & Inheritance LawUnemployment BenefitsWage & Hour Laws, Obamacare (ACA -Affordable Care Act), Child Custody Law, and Democracy & Voting Rights.

Access to Justice for North Carolina Consumers

LegalConsumer.com has been providing free tools and information to North Carolina consumers since 2006. Our seasoned lawyer editors have been translating legalese into plain English for over 35 years.



Tools and Resources for Mecklenburg County, NC Consumers

North Carolina Inheritance Law & Probate Procedure


North Carolina Wage & Hour Law

  • North Carolina Minimum Wage:  
    • Currently the minimum wage in North Carolina is $7.25 an hour. But this is all an employer must pay its employees by statute pursuant to the North Carolina Wage and Hour Act (WHA). 

      Mecklenburg County Minimum Wage

      The minimum wage in Mecklenburg County is $7.25 an hour, the state minimum wage. North Carolina law prohibits city and county governments from adopting a local minimum wage that's higher than the state minimum wage. 

      Charlotte Minimum Wage

      The minimum wage in Charlotte, North Carolina, is $7.25 an hour, the state minimum wage. North Carolina law prohibits city and county governments from adopting a local minimum wage that's higher than the state minimum wage. 

  • Overtime Pay: Every state has rules about weekly maximum hours and overtime. Learn about the overtime laws in North Carolina and whether they apply to you.
  • Wage Claims: If you're being unlawfully underpaid, you need to learn how to file a "Wage Claim" in North Carolina. 
  • Tips : Every state has special pay rates for tipped workers. Find out the rules for tipped workers in North Carolina.
    • In North Carolina, your employer may pay you a minimum wage of $2.13 an hour, as long as you earn enough in tips to bring your total hourly pay up to the full minimum wage, $7.25 an hour. If you don’t earn enough in tips to bring your compensation to the full minimum wage, your employer must make up the difference.

  • State Labor Board:

North Carolina Unemployment Benefits


Bankruptcy & Debt


Child Custody & Family Courts in North Carolina 


North Carolina Obamacare


Democracy In North Carolina, Mecklenburg County, Charlotte 


Find a Lawyer in Mecklenburg County, NC