justice fist holding scales LegalConsumer.com
Empowering Consumers Since 2006

Tippah County, MS
Bankruptcy Law

Filing Bankruptcy In Tippah County, MS


Since 2006, more than 10 million consumers have come to this website figure out where they stand in relation to the 2005 (BAPCPA) bankruptcy law, and the  bankruptcy means test. 

Seventeen years later, the Means Test Calculator is still free, and we've updated it to use the latest applicable income and expense standards, for cases filed on or after May 15, 2023.

Local Forms & Instructions

Court Info for Tippah County, MS

How Bankruptcy Handles Property

Mississippi Bankruptcy Exemptions

How Bankruptcy Handles Debt

Debts You CAN Discharge

  • Credit Card Debt,
  • Medical Debt
  • Lawsuit Liability (if not from fraud or willful or malicious injury), 
  • Personal Loans

Debts You Can Discharge Only In Special Cases

Debts You CAN NOT Discharge

What Happens To Secured Debts?

How Bankruptcy Affects Debt Co-Signers

    • Chapter 7 Bankruptcy
    • Chapter 13 Bankruptcy

Bankruptcy Lawyers Near Me

Note: This website is updated as time permits. It is up to you to contact your local court and confirm and update any information you need. Information is not advice. Consult with a bankruptcy lawyer for advice about how the law relates to your exact situation.


Tippah County Bankruptcy Means Test Calculator

Automatically apply the Tippah County expense standards, and Mississippi income standards to your means test calculation.

Tippah County Bankruptcy Court

Find where to file if you live in Tippah County.

Mississippi Bankruptcy Exemption Laws

Automatically apply the Tippah County expense standards, and Mississippi income standards to your means test calculation.


Means Test Calculator for Tippah County, For Cases Filed on or after April 1, 2023

The free bankruptcy means test calculator is a free, automated version of the official Means Test Form you must file with the court.

This free automated version:

...to help you determine whether you pass the "means test" for Chapter 7 bankruptcy.



Mississippi Bankruptcy Exemptions - All Categories

Mississippi Exemptions Summary:


Property you own & occupy to $75,000; if over 60 and married or widowed may claim a former residence; property cannot exceed 160 acres; sale proceeds exempt
Mobile home (as personal property) to $30,000 (Mobile home does not qualify as homestead unless you own land on which it is located)

Vehicle Exemption

No specific exemption

Personal Property

Tangible personal property to $10,000: any items worth less than $200 each; furniture, dishes, kitchenware, household goods, appliances, 1 radio & 1 TV, 1 firearm, 1 lawnmower, clothing, wedding rings, motor vehicles, tools of the trade, books, crops, health aids, domestic animals (does not include works of art, antiques, jewelry, or electronic entertainment equipment)

Wild Card

$50,000 of any property, whether real, personal or mixed, tangible or intangible, including deposits of money, available to any Mississippi resident who is 70 years of age or older.