Bankruptcy Exemption Citations
A Research Database... updated as time allows... Not guaranteed to be complete or up to date ... you can find pay services for that... Not a subsitute for legal advice

Georgia Homestead Exemptions

Exemption: Real or personal property, including co-op, used as residence to $21,500 ($43,000 if married, and the property is solely owned by one spouse); up to $5,000 of unused portion of homestead may be applied to any property

Citation: Stat. - Ga. Code Ann. § 44-13-100 (a)(6)

Ga. Code Ann. § 44-13-100 (a)(6):
Chapter 13. Exemptions from Levy and Sale (Refs & Annos)

Article 2. Statutory Exemptions

§ 44-13-100. Exemption extended to insolvent estates

(a) In lieu of the exemption provided in Code Section 44-13-1 , any debtor who is a natural person may exempt, pursuant to this article, for purposes of bankruptcy, the following property:

(1) The debtor's aggregate interest, not to exceed $21,500.00 in value, in real property or personal property that the debtor or a dependent of the debtor uses as a residence, in a cooperative that owns property that the debtor or a dependent of the debtor uses as a residence, or in a burial plot for the debtor or a dependent of the debtor.  In the event title to property used for the exemption provided under this paragraph is in one of two spouses who is a debtor, the amount of the exemption hereunder shall be $43,000.00;

(2) The debtor's right to receive:

(A) A social security benefit, unemployment compensation, or a local public assistance benefit;

(B) A veteran's benefit;

(C) A disability, illness, or unemployment benefit;

(D) Alimony, support, or separate maintenance, to the extent reasonably necessary for the support of the debtor and any dependent of the debtor;

(E) A payment under a pension, annuity, or similar plan or contract on account of illness, disability, death, age, or length of service, to the extent reasonably necessary for the support of the debtor and any dependent of the debtor;

(F) A payment from an individual retirement account within the meaning of Title 26 U.S.C. Section 408 to the extent reasonably necessary for the support of the debtor and any dependent of the debtor;  and

(G) Moneys paid into or out of, the assets of, and the income of a health savings account or medical savings account authorized under Chapter 51 of Title 33 or Sections 220 and 223 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 .

(2.1) The debtor's aggregate interest in any funds or property held on behalf of the debtor, and not yet distributed to the debtor, under any retirement or pension plan or system:

(A) Which is: (i) maintained for public officers or employees or both by the State of Georgia or a political subdivision of the State of Georgia or both; and (ii) financially supported in whole or in part by public funds of the State of Georgia or a political subdivision of the State of Georgia or both;

(B) Which is: (i) maintained by a nonprofit corporation which is qualified as an exempt organization under Code Section 48-7-25 for its officers or employees or both; and (ii) financially supported in whole or in part by funds of the nonprofit corporation;

(C) To the extent permitted by the bankruptcy laws of the United States, similar benefits from the private sector of such debtor shall be entitled to the same treatment as those specified in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph,

provided that the exempt or nonexempt status of periodic payments from such a retirement or pension plan or system shall be as provided under subparagraph (E) of paragraph (2) of this subsection; or

(D) An individual retirement account within the meaning of Title 26 U.S.C. Section 408 ;

(3) The debtor's interest, not to exceed the total of $5,000.00 in value, in all motor vehicles;

(4) The debtor's interest, not to exceed $300.00 in value in any particular item, in household furnishings, household goods, wearing apparel, appliances, books, animals, crops, or musical instruments that are held primarily for the personal, family, or household use of the debtor or a dependent of the debtor. The exemption of the debtor's interest in the items contained in this paragraph shall not exceed $5,000.00 in total value;

(5) The debtor's aggregate interest, not to exceed $500.00 in value, in jewelry held primarily for the personal, family, or household use of the debtor or a dependent of the debtor;

(6) The debtor's aggregate interest, not to exceed $1,200.00 in value plus any unused amount of the exemption, not to exceed $10,000.00, provided under paragraph (1) of this subsection, in any property;

(7) The debtor's aggregate interest, not to exceed $1,500.00 in value, in any implements, professional books, or tools of the trade of the debtor or the trade of a dependent of the debtor;

(8) Any unmatured life insurance contract owned by the debtor, other than a credit life insurance contract;

(9) The debtor's aggregate interest, not to exceed $2,000.00 in value, less any amount of property of the estate transferred in the manner specified in Section 542(d) of U.S. Code Title 11 , in any accrued dividend or interest under, or loan or cash value of, any unmatured life insurance contract owned by the debtor under which the insured is the debtor or an individual of whom the debtor is a dependent;

(10) Professionally prescribed health aids for the debtor or a dependent of the debtor; and

(11) The debtor's right to receive, or property that is traceable to:

(A) An award under a crime victim's reparation law;

(B) A payment on account of the wrongful death of an individual of whom the debtor was a dependent, to the extent reasonably necessary for the support of the debtor and any dependent of the debtor;

(C) A payment under a life insurance contract that insured the life of an individual of whom the debtor was a dependent on the date of such individual's death, to the extent reasonably necessary for the support of the debtor and any dependent of the debtor;

(D) A payment, not to exceed $10,000.00, on account of personal bodily injury, not including pain and suffering or compensation for actual pecuniary loss, of the debtor or an individual of whom the debtor is a dependent; or

(E) A payment in compensation of loss of future earnings of the debtor or an individual of whom the debtor is or was a dependent, to the extent reasonably necessary for the support of the debtor and any dependent of the debtor.

(b) Pursuant to 11 U.S.C. Section 522(b)(1) , an individual debtor whose domicile is in Georgia is prohibited from applying or utilizing 11 U.S.C. Section 522(d) in connection with exempting property from his or her estate; and such individual debtor may exempt from property of his or her estate only such property as may be exempted from the estate pursuant to 11 U.S.C. Section 522(b)(2)(A) and (B) . For the purposes of this subsection, an “individual debtor whose domicile is in Georgia” means an individual whose domicile has been located in Georgia for the 180 days immediately preceding the date of the filing of the bankruptcy petition or for a longer portion of such 180 day period than in any other place.

(c) The exemptions and protections contained in this article are extended to intestate insolvent estates in all cases where there is a living widow or child of the intestate.

(d)(1) At any time after closing of a case filed pursuant to an act of Congress relating to bankruptcy, the debtor, his or her receiver or trustee, or any interested party may file with a clerk of court where a judgment lien is recorded an affidavit of lien release and shall attach thereto a certified copy of the discharge of such bankrupt or debtor and a lien avoidance order, or a certified copy of the order of confirmation of a plan and the plan as confirmed, together with a copy of the portions of the schedules filed by the debtor in the bankruptcy case listing the judgment creditor and identifying property as exempt.  In addition, the filer shall certify that no order has been entered in the bankruptcy limiting the discharge as to the judgment or retaining the judgment lien.

(2) Upon filing such affidavit, the lien of such judgment shall be deemed cancelled as to:

(A) Any property which was:

(i) Identified as exempt and for which a lien avoidance order was issued;  or

(ii) Re-vested in the debtor without lien retention under a plan;  and

(B) Any other property acquired by the debtor after the filing of the bankruptcy petition.

(3) The clerk of court shall file such affidavit in the deed records and index the recording information as to the affidavit of lien release on the judgment lien in the appropriate lien record.
Last Amended: 2015
2017
(Ga. L. 1865-66, p. 29, § 1; Code 1868, § 2022; Code 1873, § 2049; Code 1882, § 2049; Civil Code 1895, § 2875; Civil Code 1910, § 3425; Code 1933, § 51-1504; Code 1933, § 51-1301.1, enacted by Ga. L. 1980, p. 952, § 2; Code 1933, § 51-1601, enacted by Ga. L. 1980, p. 952, § 3; Ga. L. 1981, p. 626, §§ 2, 3; Ga. L. 1988, p. 1756, § 1; Ga. L. 1989, p. 14, § 44; Ga. L. 1995, p. 347, § 1; Ga. L. 2001, p. 745, § 1; Ga. L. 2012, p. 1030, § 2/SB 117; Ga. L. 2013, p. 141, § 44/HB 79; Ga. L. 2013, p. 1045, § 2/SB 105; Ga. L. 2015, p. 996, § 6-1/SB 65; Ga. L. 2017, p. 620, § 1/SB 87.)

The 2001 amendment, effective July 1, 2001, in subsection (a), in paragraph (1), substituted "$10,000.00" for "$5,000.00" in the first sentence and added the second sentence, substituted "$3,500.00" for "$1,000.00" in paragraph (3), in paragraph (4), substituted "$300.00" for "$200.00" in the first sentence and "$5,000.00" for "$3,500.00" in the second sentence, in paragraph (6), substituted "$600.00" for "$400.00" and inserted ", not to exceed $5,000.00,", substituted "$1,500.00" for "$500.00" in paragraph (7), inserted "or cash" in paragraph (9), and substituted "$10,000.00" for "$7,500.00" in subparagraph (a)(11)(D).

The 2012 amendment, effective May 2, 2012, in paragraph (a)(1), substituted "$21,500.00" for "$10,000.00" near the beginning and substituted "$43,000.00" for "$20,000.00" at the end.

The 2013 amendments. The first 2013 amendment, effective April 24, 2013, part of an Act to revise, modernize, and correct the Code, revised punctuation near the middle of subparagraph (a)(2.1)(C). The second 2013 amendment, effective July 1, 2013, substituted "$5,000.00" for "$3,500.00" in the middle of paragraph (a)(3).

The 2015 amendment, effective July 1, 2015, in paragraph (a)(6), substituted "$1,200.00" for "$600.00" near the beginning and substituted "$10,000.00" for "$5,000.00" near the middle.

The 2017 amendment, effective July 1, 2017, deleted "and" at the end of subparagraph (a)(2)(E); substituted "; and" for the period at the end of subparagraph (a)(2)(F); added subparagraph (a)(2)(G); and added subsection (d).
  • Other State Citations
  • Other States on this topic

Other Georgia Exemption Citations

50 State Homestead Exemptions

  • Alaska Stat. § 09.38.010 (a) - $72,900 (joint owners may each claim a portion, but total can't exceed $72,900)
  • Alaska Admin. Code tit. 8, § 95.030 (a) - $72,900 (joint owners may each claim a portion, but total can't exceed $72,900)
  • Ala. Code § 6-10-2 - Real property or mobile home to $16,450 (Increased to $16,450 on April 1, 2021); property cannot exceed 160 acres (husband & wife may double)
  • Ala. Code § 6-10-20 - Must record homestead declaration before attempted sale of home
  • Ala. Code § 6-10-4 - Real property or mobile home to $16,450 (Increased to $16,450 on April 1, 2021); property cannot exceed 160 acres (husband & wife may double)
  • Ark. Const. Art. 9, § 3 - 1. For married person or head of family: unlimited exemption on real or personal property used as residence to 1/4 acre in city, town, or village, or 80 acres elsewhere; if property is between 1/4—1 acre in city, town, or village, or 80-160 acres elsewhere, additional limit is $2,500; homestead may not exceed 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 160 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • Ark. Const. Art. 9, § 4 - 1. For married person or head of family: unlimited exemption on real or personal property used as residence to 1/4 acre in city, town, or village, or 80 acres elsewhere; if property is between 1/4—1 acre in city, town, or village, or 80-160 acres elsewhere, additional limit is $2,500; homestead may not exceed 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 160 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • Ark. Const. Art. 9, § 5 - 1. For married person or head of family: unlimited exemption on real or personal property used as residence to 1/4 acre in city, town, or village, or 80 acres elsewhere; if property is between 1/4—1 acre in city, town, or village, or 80-160 acres elsewhere, additional limit is $2,500; homestead may not exceed 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 160 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • Ark. Code Ann. § 16-66-210 - 1. For married person or head of family: unlimited exemption on real or personal property used as residence to 1/4 acre in city, town, or village, or 80 acres elsewhere; if property is between 1/4—1 acre in city, town, or village, or 80-160 acres elsewhere, additional limit is $2,500; homestead may not exceed 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 160 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • Ark. Code Ann. § 16-66-218 (b)(3), (4) - 1. For married person or head of family: unlimited exemption on real or personal property used as residence to 1/4 acre in city, town, or village, or 80 acres elsewhere; if property is between 1/4—1 acre in city, town, or village, or 80-160 acres elsewhere, additional limit is $2,500; homestead may not exceed 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 160 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • In re Stevens, 829 F.2d 693 (8th Cir. 1987) - 1. For married person or head of family: unlimited exemption on real or personal property used as residence to 1/4 acre in city, town, or village, or 80 acres elsewhere; if property is between 1/4—1 acre in city, town, or village, or 80-160 acres elsewhere, additional limit is $2,500; homestead may not exceed 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 160 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • Ark. Code Ann. § 16-66-218 (a)(1) - 2. Real or personal property used as residence to $800 if single; $1,250 if married
  • Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 33-1101 (A) - Real property, an apartment, or mobile home you occupy to $400,000; sale proceeds exempt 18 months after sale or until new home purchased, whichever occurs first (husband & wife may not double)
  • Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 33-1102 - May record homestead declaration to clarify which one of multiple eligible parcels is being claimed as homestead
  • In re Talmadge, 832 F.2d 1120 (9th Cir 1987) - Real or personal property, including co-op, used as residence to $31,950; unused portion of homestead may be applied to any property
  • Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 704.710 - The amount of the homestead exemption is the greater of the following: (1) The countywide median sale price for a single-family home in the calendar year prior to the calendar year in which the judgment debtor claims the exemption, not to exceed six hundred thousand dollars ($600,000*). (2) Three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000*). (* adjusted annually for inflation, beginning on January 1, 2022.
  • Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 704.720 - The amount of the homestead exemption is the greater of the following: (1) The countywide median sale price for a single-family home in the calendar year prior to the calendar year in which the judgment debtor claims the exemption, not to exceed six hundred thousand dollars ($600,000*). (2) Three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000*). (* adjusted annually for inflation, beginning on January 1, 2022.
  • Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 704.730 - The amount of the homestead exemption is the greater of the following: (1) The countywide median sale price for a single-family home in the calendar year prior to the calendar year in which the judgment debtor claims the exemption, not to exceed six hundred thousand dollars ($600,000*). (2) Three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000*). (* adjusted annually for inflation, beginning on January 1, 2022.
  • In re McFall, 112 B.R. 336 (9th Cir. B.A.P. 1990) - The amount of the homestead exemption is the greater of the following: (1) The countywide median sale price for a single-family home in the calendar year prior to the calendar year in which the judgment debtor claims the exemption, not to exceed six hundred thousand dollars ($600,000*). (2) Three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000*). (* adjusted annually for inflation, beginning on January 1, 2022.
  • Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 704.920 - May file homestead declaration to protect exemption amount from attachment of judicial liens and to protect proceeds of voluntary sale for 6 months.
  • Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 704.950 - May file homestead declaration to protect exemption amount from attachment of judicial liens and to protect proceeds of voluntary sale for 6 months.
  • Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 704.960 - May file homestead declaration to protect exemption amount from attachment of judicial liens and to protect proceeds of voluntary sale for 6 months.
  • Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 703.150 (c) - The amount of the homestead exemption is the greater of the following: (1) The countywide median sale price for a single-family home in the calendar year prior to the calendar year in which the judgment debtor claims the exemption, not to exceed six hundred thousand dollars ($600,000*). (2) Three hundred thousand dollars ($300,000*). (* adjusted annually for inflation, beginning on January 1, 2022.
  • Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 703.140 (b)(1) - Real or personal property, including co-op, used as residence to $31,950; unused portion of homestead may be applied to any property
  • Colo. Rev. Stat. 38-41-204 - Spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption
  • Colo. Rev. Stat. § 38-41-201 - Real property, mobile home, manufactured home, or house trailer you occupy to $75,000; $105,000 if owner, spouse, or dependent is disabled or age 60 or older; sale proceeds exempt 2 years after received (husband & wife may double)
  • Colo. Rev. Stat. § 38-41-201.6 - Real property, mobile home, manufactured home, or house trailer you occupy to $75,000; $105,000 if owner, spouse, or dependent is disabled or age 60 or older; sale proceeds exempt 2 years after received (husband & wife may double)
  • Colo. Rev. Stat. § 38-41-203 - Real property, mobile home, manufactured home, or house trailer you occupy to $75,000; $105,000 if owner, spouse, or dependent is disabled or age 60 or older; sale proceeds exempt 2 years after received (husband & wife may double)
  • Colo. Rev. Stat. § 38-41-207 - Real property, mobile home, manufactured home, or house trailer you occupy to $75,000; $105,000 if owner, spouse, or dependent is disabled or age 60 or older; sale proceeds exempt 2 years after received (husband & wife may double)
  • In re Pastrana, 216 B.R. 948 (Colo. 1998) - Real property, mobile home, manufactured home, or house trailer you occupy to $75,000; $105,000 if owner, spouse, or dependent is disabled or age 60 or older; sale proceeds exempt 2 years after received (husband & wife may double)
  • Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 52-352a (e) - Real property, co-op, including mobile or manufactured home, to $250,000. (Effective October 1, 2021. See: PA 21-161—HB 6466)
  • Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 52-352b (t) - Real property, co-op, including mobile or manufactured home, to $250,000. (Effective October 1, 2021. See: PA 21-161—HB 6466)
  • D.C. Code Ann. § 15-501 (a)(14) - Any property used as a residence or co-op that debtor or debtor's dependent uses as a residence
  • In re Hovatter, 25 B.R. 123 (D. Del.Bankr. 1982) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse
  • Del. Code Ann. tit. 10, § 4914 (c)(1) - Equity in real property or equity in a manufactured home that is debtors principal residence not to exceed $125,000. (joint filers may not double)
  • In re Kelley, 361 B.R. 629 (D.Del 2004) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse
  • Fla. Stat. Ann. § 222.01 - Real or personal property including mobile or modular home to unlimited value; cannot exceed half acre in municipality or 160 acres elsewhere; spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption (husband & wife may double)
  • Fla. Stat. Ann. § 222.02 - Real or personal property including mobile or modular home to unlimited value; cannot exceed half acre in municipality or 160 acres elsewhere; spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption (husband & wife may double)
  • Fla. Stat. Ann. § 222.03 - Real or personal property including mobile or modular home to unlimited value; cannot exceed half acre in municipality or 160 acres elsewhere; spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption (husband & wife may double)
  • Fla. Stat. Ann. § 222.05 - Real or personal property including mobile or modular home to unlimited value; cannot exceed half acre in municipality or 160 acres elsewhere; spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption (husband & wife may double)
  • Fla. Const. Art.10, 4 - Real or personal property including mobile or modular home to unlimited value; cannot exceed half acre in municipality or 160 acres elsewhere; spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption (husband & wife may double)
  • In re Colwell, 196 F.3d 1225 (11th Cir. 1999) - Real or personal property including mobile or modular home to unlimited value; cannot exceed half acre in municipality or 160 acres elsewhere; spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption (husband & wife may double)
  • Fla. Stat. Ann. § 222.01 - May file homestead declaration
  • Havoco of America, Ltd. v. Hill, 197 F.3d 1135 (11th Cir Fla. 1999) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse
  • In re Taylor, 320 B.R. 214 (Bkrtcy.N.D.Ga., 2005) - Real or personal property, including co-op, used as residence to $21,500 ($43,000 if married, and the property is solely owned by one spouse); up to $5,000 of unused portion of homestead may be applied to any property
  • Ga. Code Ann. § 44-13-100 (a)(1); - Real or personal property, including co-op, used as residence to $21,500 ($43,000 if married, and the property is solely owned by one spouse); up to $5,000 of unused portion of homestead may be applied to any property
  • Ga. Code Ann. § 44-13-100 (a)(6) - Real or personal property, including co-op, used as residence to $21,500 ($43,000 if married, and the property is solely owned by one spouse); up to $5,000 of unused portion of homestead may be applied to any property
  • Haw. Rev. Stat. § 651-93 - Head of family or over 65 to $30,000; all others to $20,000; property cannot exceed 1 acre; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months after sale (husband & wife may not double)
  • Haw. Rev. Stat. § 651-91 - Head of family or over 65 to $30,000; all others to $20,000; property cannot exceed 1 acre; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months after sale (husband & wife may not double)
  • Haw. Rev. Stat. § 651-92 - Head of family or over 65 to $30,000; all others to $20,000; property cannot exceed 1 acre; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months after sale (husband & wife may not double)
  • Haw. Rev. Stat. § 651-96 - Head of family or over 65 to $30,000; all others to $20,000; property cannot exceed 1 acre; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months after sale (husband & wife may not double)
  • Iowa Code § 561.4 - May record homestead declaration
  • Iowa Code § 499A.18 - Real property or an apartment to an unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1/2 acre in town or city, 40 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • Iowa Code § 561.2 - Real property or an apartment to an unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1/2 acre in town or city, 40 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • Iowa Code § 561.16 - Real property or an apartment to an unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1/2 acre in town or city, 40 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • Idaho Code § 55-1004 - Must record homestead exemption for property that is not yet occupied
  • Idaho Code § 55-1001 - Real property or mobile home to $175,000*; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months (husband and wife may not double) (* increased from $100,000 - March 2020)
  • Idaho Code § 55-1003 - Real property or mobile home to $175,000*; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months (husband and wife may not double) (* increased from $100,000 - March 2020)
  • Idaho Code § 55-1113 - Real property or mobile home to $175,000*; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months (husband and wife may not double) (* increased from $100,000 - March 2020)
  • 735 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/12-902 - Spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption
  • 735 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/12-901 - Real or personal property including a farm, lot, & buildings, condo, co-op, or mobile home to $15,000 (husband and wife may double); sale proceeds exempt for 1 year
  • 735 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/12-906 - Real or personal property including a farm, lot, & buildings, condo, co-op, or mobile home to $15,000 (husband and wife may double); sale proceeds exempt for 1 year
  • Ind. Code Ann. § 34-55-10-2.5 - Real or personal property used as residence to $22,750* (husband and wife may double); (*adjusted for inflation every six years)
  • Ind. Code Ann. § 34-55-10-2 (c)(5) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts incurred by only one spouse
  • Ind. Code Ann. § 34-55-10-2 (c)(1) - Real or personal property used as residence to $22,750* (husband and wife may double); (*adjusted for inflation every six years)
  • Ind. Code Ann. § 34-55-10-2 (c) - Real or personal property used as residence to $22,750* (husband and wife may double); (*adjusted for inflation every six years)
  • Kan. Stat. Ann. § 60-2301 - Real property or mobile home you occupy or intend to occupy to unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1 acre in town or city, 160 acres on farm. (New in 2011: If existing homestead land is annexed by city, homestead retains its prior protection despite annexation.)
  • Kan. Const. art. 15 § 9 - Real property or mobile home you occupy or intend to occupy to unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1 acre in town or city, 160 acres on farm. (New in 2011: If existing homestead land is annexed by city, homestead retains its prior protection despite annexation.)
  • Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 427.090 - Real or personal property used as residence to $5,000; sale proceeds exempt
  • Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 427.060 - Real or personal property used as residence to $5,000; sale proceeds exempt
  • La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 20:1 (A)(1),(2),(3) - Property you occupy to $35,000 (if debt is result of catastrophic or terminal illness or injury, limit is full value of property as of 1 year before filing); cannot exceed 5 acres in city or town, 200 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13:3881 - Disaster relief insurance proceeds for exempt property
  • La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 20:1 (B) - Spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption; spouse given home in divorce gets homestead
  • Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 188, § 1 - Automatic homestead $125,000; "Declared homestead" to $500,000 for property you occupy or intend to occupy (including mobile home); (co-owners may not double) (special rules if over 62 or disabled, may double to 1,000,00).
  • Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 188, § 2 - Automatic homestead $125,000; "Declared homestead" to $500,000 for property you occupy or intend to occupy (including mobile home); (co-owners may not double) (special rules if over 62 or disabled, may double to 1,000,00).
  • Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 188, § 5 - Automatic homestead $125,000; "Declared homestead" to $500,000 for property you occupy or intend to occupy (including mobile home); (co-owners may not double) (special rules if over 62 or disabled, may double to 1,000,00).
  • In re Peirce, 467 B.R. 260 (Bankr.D.Minn. 2012) - Automatic homestead $125,000; "Declared homestead" to $500,000 for property you occupy or intend to occupy (including mobile home); (co-owners may not double) (special rules if over 62 or disabled, may double to 1,000,00).
  • Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 188, § 2 - Special rules for elderly and disabled.
  • Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 188, § 7 - Spouse or children of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption
  • Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 209, § 1 - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debt for non-necessity owed by only one spouse.
  • In re Birney, 200 F.3d 225 (4th Cir. 1999) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety is exempt against debts owed by only one spouse
  • Md. Code Ann., [Cts. & Jud. Proc.] § 11-504 (f) - Owner occupied residential property or condo or co-op or or a manufactured home that has been converted to real property pursuant to Real Property § 8B-201, to $27,900 (husband and wife may not double), can only be claimed once every 8 years. (Note:Maryland homestead cap is equal to the Federal inflation-adjusted homestead amount, as of April 1, 2022, adjusted for inflation every 3 years.)
  • Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14, § 4422 (1) - Real or personal property (including cooperative) used as residence to $80,00; if debtor has minor dependents in residence, to $160,000; if debtor over age 60 or physically or mentally disabled, $160,000 (joint debtors in this category may double); proceeds of sale exempt for six months
  • In re Lindstrom, 331 B.R. 267 (E.D. Mich. 2006) - Real property including condo to $40,475, $60,725 if 65 or older or disabled; property cannot exceed 1 lot in town, village, city, or 40 acres elsewhere; spouse or children of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption. Spouses or unmarried co-owners may not double.
  • Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5451 (1)(m) - Real property including condo to $40,475, $60,725 if 65 or older or disabled; property cannot exceed 1 lot in town, village, city, or 40 acres elsewhere; spouse or children of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption. Spouses or unmarried co-owners may not double.
  • Vinson v. Dakmak, 347 B.R. 620 (E.D. Mich 2006) - Real property including condo to $40,475, $60,725 if 65 or older or disabled; property cannot exceed 1 lot in town, village, city, or 40 acres elsewhere; spouse or children of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption. Spouses or unmarried co-owners may not double.
  • In re Tveten, 402 N.W.2d 551 (Minn 1987) - Only reasonable amount may be exempted.
  • In re Medill, 119 B.R. 685 (D.Minn 1990) - Only reasonable amount may be exempted.
  • Minn. Stat. Ann. § 510.01 - Home and land on which it is situated to $450,000; if homestead is used for agricultural purposes, $1,125,000; cannot exceed 1/2 acre in city, 160 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • Minn. Stat. Ann. § 510.02 - Home and land on which it is situated to $450,000; if homestead is used for agricultural purposes, $1,125,000; cannot exceed 1/2 acre in city, 160 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)
  • Minn. Stat. Ann. § 550.37 subd. 12 - Manufactured home to an unlimited value
  • In re Eads, 271 B.R. 371 (Bkrtcy. W.D. Mo. 2002) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse
  • Mo. Rev. Stat. § 513.430 1.(6) - Real property to $15,000 or mobile home to $5,000 (joint owners may not double)
  • Mo. Rev. Stat. § 513.475 - Real property to $15,000 or mobile home to $5,000 (joint owners may not double)
  • In re Smith,, 254 B.R. 751 (W.D. Mo. 2000) - Real property to $15,000 or mobile home to $5,000 (joint owners may not double)
  • In re Hurd, 441 BR 116 (BAP 8th Cir 2010) - Real property to $15,000 or mobile home to $5,000 (joint owners may not double)
  • Miss. Code Ann. § 85-3-1 (b)(i) - Property you own & occupy to $75,000; if over 60 and married or widowed may claim a former residence; property cannot exceed 160 acres; sale proceeds exempt
  • Miss. Code Ann. § 85-3-21 - Property you own & occupy to $75,000; if over 60 and married or widowed may claim a former residence; property cannot exceed 160 acres; sale proceeds exempt
  • Miss. Code Ann. § 85-3-23 - Property you own & occupy to $75,000; if over 60 and married or widowed may claim a former residence; property cannot exceed 160 acres; sale proceeds exempt
  • In re Cobbins, 234 B.R. 882 (S.D. Miss. 1999) - Mobile home does not qualify as homestead unless you own land on which it is located (see personal property)
  • Miss. Code Ann. § 85-3-27 - May file homestead declaration
  • Miss. Code Ann. § 85-3-31 - May file homestead declaration
  • Mont. Code Ann. § 70-32-105 - Must record homestead declaration before filing for bankruptcy
  • Mont. Code Ann. 25-13-615 - Real property or mobile home you occupy to $378,560; sale, condemnation, or insurance proceeds exempt for 18 months (increases 4% every calendar year)
  • Mont. Code Ann. § 70-32-104 - Real property or mobile home you occupy to $378,560; sale, condemnation, or insurance proceeds exempt for 18 months (increases 4% every calendar year)
  • Mont. Code Ann. § 70-32-201 - Real property or mobile home you occupy to $378,560; sale, condemnation, or insurance proceeds exempt for 18 months (increases 4% every calendar year)
  • Mont. Code Ann. § 70-32-213 - Real property or mobile home you occupy to $378,560; sale, condemnation, or insurance proceeds exempt for 18 months (increases 4% every calendar year)
  • Mont. Code Ann. § 70-32-105 - Must record homestead declaration before filing for bankruptcy
  • N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1C-1601 (a)(1),(2) - Real or personal property, including co-op, used as residence to $35,000 (husband and wife may double) ($60,000 if 65 or older and spouse is deceased); up to $5,000 of unused portion of homestead may be applied to any property
  • In re Chandler, 148 B.R. 13 (E.D. N.C. 1992) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse
  • N.D. Cent. Code § 28-22-02 ) - Real property, house trailer, or mobile home to $100,000 (husband & wife may not double)
  • N.D. Cent. Code § 47-18-01 - Real property, house trailer, or mobile home to $100,000 (husband & wife may not double)
  • Neb. Rev. Stat. § 25-1556 - $60,000 for head of family or unmarried person age 65 or older; cannot exceed 2 lots in city or village, 160 acres elsewhere; sale proceeds exempt 6 months after sale (husband & wife may not double)
  • Neb. Rev. Stat. § 40-111 - $60,000 for head of family or unmarried person age 65 or older; cannot exceed 2 lots in city or village, 160 acres elsewhere; sale proceeds exempt 6 months after sale (husband & wife may not double)
  • Neb. Rev. Stat. § 40-113 - $60,000 for head of family or unmarried person age 65 or older; cannot exceed 2 lots in city or village, 160 acres elsewhere; sale proceeds exempt 6 months after sale (husband & wife may not double)
  • Neb. Rev. Stat. § 40-105 - May record homestead declaration
  • N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 480:1 - Real property or manufactured housing (and the land it's on if you own it) to $120,000
  • Freda v. Commercial Trust Co. of New Jersey, 570 A.2d 409 (N.J. 1990) - None, but survivorship interest of a spouse in property held as tenancy by the entirety is exempt from creditors of a single spouse
  • N.M. Stat. Ann. § 42-10-9 - $60,000 (joint owners may double)
  • Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 115.020 - Must record homestead declaration before filing for bankruptcy
  • In re Lennox, 58 B.R. 104 (D. Nev. 1986) - Real property or mobile home to $605,000 (husband & wife may not double)
  • Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 115.020 - Real property or mobile home to $605,000 (husband & wife may not double)
  • Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 115.005 - Real property or mobile home to $605,000 (husband & wife may not double)
  • Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 115.010 - Real property or mobile home to $605,000 (husband & wife may not double)
  • Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 21.090 (1)(m) - Real property or mobile home to $605,000 (husband & wife may not double)
  • In re Pearl, 723 F.2d 193 (2nd Cir. 1983) - Real property including co-op, condo, or mobile home, to $179,975 for the counties of Kings, New York, Queens, Bronx, Richmond, Nassau, Suffolk, Rockland, Westchester, and Putnam; $149.975 for the counties of Dutchess, Albany, Columbia, Orange, Saratoga, and Ulster; $89,975 for the remaining counties in the state. (husband & wife may double)
  • N.Y. CPLR § 5206 (a) - Real property including co-op, condo, or mobile home, to $179,975 for the counties of Kings, New York, Queens, Bronx, Richmond, Nassau, Suffolk, Rockland, Westchester, and Putnam; $149.975 for the counties of Dutchess, Albany, Columbia, Orange, Saratoga, and Ulster; $89,975 for the remaining counties in the state. (husband & wife may double)
  • In re Pernus, 143 B.R. 856 (N.D. Ohio 1992) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse
  • Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2329.66 (A)(1)(b) - Real or personal property used as residence to $161,375.
  • 31 Okla. Stat. Ann. § 1 (A)(1) - Real property or manufactured home to unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 160 acres elsewhere; $5,000 limit if more than 25% of total sq. ft. area used for business purposes; okay to rent homestead as long as no other residence is acquired
  • 31 Okla. Stat. Ann. § 1 (A)(2) - Real property or manufactured home to unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 160 acres elsewhere; $5,000 limit if more than 25% of total sq. ft. area used for business purposes; okay to rent homestead as long as no other residence is acquired
  • 31 Okla. Stat. Ann. § 2 - Real property or manufactured home to unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 160 acres elsewhere; $5,000 limit if more than 25% of total sq. ft. area used for business purposes; okay to rent homestead as long as no other residence is acquired
  • Or. Rev. Stat. § 18.395 - Real property, mobile home or houseboat you occupy or intend to occupy to $40,000 ($50,000 for joint owners); property cannot exceed 1 block in town or city or 160 acres elsewhere; sale proceeds exempt 1 year from sale, if you intend to purchase another home
  • Or. Rev. Stat. § 18.402 - Real property, mobile home or houseboat you occupy or intend to occupy to $40,000 ($50,000 for joint owners); property cannot exceed 1 block in town or city or 160 acres elsewhere; sale proceeds exempt 1 year from sale, if you intend to purchase another home
  • Or. Rev. Stat. § 408.440 - Real property of a soldier or sailor during time of war
  • In re Wynn, 369 B.R. 605 (Bankr. D. Or 2007) - Homestead proceeds used for rent count as reinvestment within one year.
  • In re Pletz, 221 F.3d 1114 (9th Cir 2000) - Tenancy by entirety not exempt, but subject to survivorship rights of nondebtor spouse
  • In re Casserino, 379 F.3d 1069 (9th Cir. 2004) - Prepaid rent and security deposits for renter's dwelling
  • In re Martin, 259 B.R. 119 (M.D. Pa. 2001) - None; however, property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse
  • R.I. Gen. Laws § 9-26-4.1 - $500,000 in land & buildings you occupy or intend to occupy as a principal residence
  • S.C. Code Ann. § 15-41-30 (A)(1) - Real property, including co-op, to $67,100 (joint owners to $134,175)
  • S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 43-31-1 - Real property to unlimited value or mobile home (larger than 240 sq. ft. at its base and registered in state at least 6 months before filing) to unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1 acre in town or 160 acres elsewhere; sale proceeds to $30,000 ($170,000 if over age 70 or widow or widower who hasn't remarried) exempt for 1 year after sale (husband & wife may not double)
  • S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 43-31-2 - Real property to unlimited value or mobile home (larger than 240 sq. ft. at its base and registered in state at least 6 months before filing) to unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1 acre in town or 160 acres elsewhere; sale proceeds to $30,000 ($170,000 if over age 70 or widow or widower who hasn't remarried) exempt for 1 year after sale (husband & wife may not double)
  • S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 43-31-3 - Real property to unlimited value or mobile home (larger than 240 sq. ft. at its base and registered in state at least 6 months before filing) to unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1 acre in town or 160 acres elsewhere; sale proceeds to $30,000 ($170,000 if over age 70 or widow or widower who hasn't remarried) exempt for 1 year after sale (husband & wife may not double)
  • S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 43-31-4 - Real property to unlimited value or mobile home (larger than 240 sq. ft. at its base and registered in state at least 6 months before filing) to unlimited value; property cannot exceed 1 acre in town or 160 acres elsewhere; sale proceeds to $30,000 ($170,000 if over age 70 or widow or widower who hasn't remarried) exempt for 1 year after sale (husband & wife may not double)
  • S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 43-31-5 - (Gold or silver mine, mill, or smelter not exempt)
  • S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 43-31-13 - Spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption
  • S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 43-31-6 - May file homestead declaration
  • Tenn. Code Ann. § 26-2-301 - $5,000; $7,500 for joint owners; $25,000 if at least one dependent is a minor child. (if 62 or older, 12,500 if single; $20,000 if married; $25,000 if spouse is also 62 or older)
  • In re Arango, 136 B.R. 740 (Bankr.E.D.Tenn. 1992) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse In re Arango, 136 B.R. 740 aff'd, 992 F.2d 611 (6th Cir. 1993)
  • In re Arango, 992 F.2d 611 (6th Cir. 1993) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse In re Arango, 136 B.R. 740 aff'd, 992 F.2d 611 (6th Cir. 1993)
  • In re Arwood, 289 B.R. 889 (Bankr.E.D.Tenn. 2003) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse In re Arango, 136 B.R. 740 aff'd, 992 F.2d 611 (6th Cir. 1993)
  • In re Hogue, 286 S.W.3d 890 (S.Ct.Tenn 2009) - $5,000; $7,500 for joint owners; $25,000 if at least one dependent is a minor child. (if 62 or older, 12,500 if single; $20,000 if married; $25,000 if spouse is also 62 or older)
  • Tenn. Code Ann. § 26-2-302 - $5,000; $7,500 for joint owners; $25,000 if at least one dependent is a minor child. (if 62 or older, 12,500 if single; $20,000 if married; $25,000 if spouse is also 62 or older)
  • Tenn. Code Ann. § 26-2-303 - 2—15 year lease
  • Tenn. Code Ann. § 26-2-301 - Spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption
  • Tex. Prop. Code Ann. § 41.023 - Must file homestead declaration, or court will file it for you and charge you for doing so
  • Tex. Prop. Code Ann. § 41.021 - Must file homestead declaration, or court will file it for you and charge you for doing so
  • Tex. Prop. Code Ann. § 41.022 - Must file homestead declaration, or court will file it for you and charge you for doing so
  • Tex. Prop. Code Ann. § 41.005 (f) - Must file homestead declaration, or court will file it for you and charge you for doing so
  • Tex. Prop. Code Ann. § 41.003 - Unlimited; property cannot exceed 10 acres in town, village, city or 100 acres (200 for families) elsewhere; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months after sale (renting okay if another home not acquired, Prop. 41.003)
  • Tex. Prop. Code Ann. § 41.001 - Unlimited; property cannot exceed 10 acres in town, village, city or 100 acres (200 for families) elsewhere; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months after sale (renting okay if another home not acquired, Prop. 41.003)
  • Tex. Prop. Code Ann. § 41.002 - Unlimited; property cannot exceed 10 acres in town, village, city or 100 acres (200 for families) elsewhere; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months after sale (renting okay if another home not acquired, Prop. 41.003)
  • Tex. Const. Art. 16, § 50 - Unlimited; property cannot exceed 10 acres in town, village, city or 100 acres (200 for families) elsewhere; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months after sale (renting okay if another home not acquired, Prop. 41.003)
  • Tex. Const. Art. 16, § 51 - Unlimited; property cannot exceed 10 acres in town, village, city or 100 acres (200 for families) elsewhere; sale proceeds exempt for 6 months after sale (renting okay if another home not acquired, Prop. 41.003)
  • 11 U.S.C. § 522 (d)(1), (d)(5) - Real property, including co-op or mobile home, or burial plot to $27,900; unused portion of homestead to $13,950 may be applied to any property
  • 25 U.S.C. § 410 - Indian lands or homestead sales or lease proceeds
  • Utah Code Ann. § 78B-5-503 (5)(b) - Sale proceeds exempt for 1 year
  • Utah Code Ann. § 78B-5-504 - Must file homestead declaration before attempted sale of home
  • Utah Code Ann. § 78B-5-503 (1),(2),(4) - Real property, mobile home, or water rights to $42,700 if primary residence; $5,100 if not primary residence (joint owners may double)
  • In re Williams, 104 F.3d 668 (4th Cir 1997) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse
  • Va. Code Ann. § 34-4 - $5,000 plus $500 per dependent; rents & profits; sale proceeds exempt to $5,000 (husband & wife may double, unused portion of homestead may be applied to any personal property); if 65 or older, exemption is $10,000, and (as of July 2020) an additional $25,000 if the home is a principal residence
  • Cheeseman v.Nachman,, 656 F.2d 60 (4th Cir. 1981) - $5,000 plus $500 per dependent; rents & profits; sale proceeds exempt to $5,000 (husband & wife may double, unused portion of homestead may be applied to any personal property); if 65 or older, exemption is $10,000, and (as of July 2020) an additional $25,000 if the home is a principal residence
  • Va. Code Ann. § 34-18 - $5,000 plus $500 per dependent; rents & profits; sale proceeds exempt to $5,000 (husband & wife may double, unused portion of homestead may be applied to any personal property); if 65 or older, exemption is $10,000, and (as of July 2020) an additional $25,000 if the home is a principal residence
  • Va. Code Ann. § 34-20 - $5,000 plus $500 per dependent; rents & profits; sale proceeds exempt to $5,000 (husband & wife may double, unused portion of homestead may be applied to any personal property); if 65 or older, exemption is $10,000, and (as of July 2020) an additional $25,000 if the home is a principal residence
  • In re Hoss, 233 B.R. 684 (W.D. Va 1999) - May include mobile home.
  • Va. Code Ann. § 34-6 - Must file homestead declaration before filing for bankruptcy
  • In re Bunker, 312 f.3d 145 (4th Cir 2002) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse
  • Va. Code Ann. 64.2-311 - Surviving spouse may claim $15,000; if no surviving spouse, minor children may claim exemption
  • Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 27, § 101 - Real property or mobile home to $125,000; may also claim rents, issues, profits, & out-buildings (husband and wife may not double)
  • In re McQueen, 21 B.R. 736 (D. Ver. 1982) - Property held as tenancy by the entirety may be exempt against debts owed by only one spouse
  • Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 27, § 105 - Spouse of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption
  • D'Avignon v. Palmisano, 34 B.R. 796 (D. Vt. 1982) - Real property or mobile home to $125,000; may also claim rents, issues, profits, & out-buildings (husband and wife may not double)
  • In re Roberge, 307 B.R. 442 (Bankr. D. Vt. 2004) - Real property or mobile home to $125,000; may also claim rents, issues, profits, & out-buildings (husband and wife may not double)
  • Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 6.13.040 - Must record homestead declaration before sale of home if property unimproved or home unoccupied
  • Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 6.13.010 - Real property, manufactured home, or mobile home from to $172,900 to $729,600, depending on county (husband and wife may not double) (S.B. 5408 effective, signed May 12, 2021)
  • Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 6.13.030 - Real property, manufactured home, or mobile home from to $172,900 to $729,600, depending on county (husband and wife may not double) (S.B. 5408 effective, signed May 12, 2021)
  • Wis. Stat. Ann. § 990.01 (14) - Property you occupy or intend to occupy to $75,000, not exceeding 40 acres; sale proceeds exempt for 2 years if you intend to purchase another home (husband & wife's may double)
  • Wis. Stat. Ann. § 815.20 - Property you occupy or intend to occupy to $75,000, not exceeding 40 acres; sale proceeds exempt for 2 years if you intend to purchase another home (husband & wife's may double)
  • W. Va. Code § 38-10-4 (a) - Real or personal property used as residence to $25,000; unused portion of homestead may be applied to any property (husband & wife may double)
  • Wyo. Stat. § 1-20-101 - Real property or mobile home you occupy to $20,000 (joint owners may double)
  • Wyo. Stat. § 1-20-102 - Real property or mobile home you occupy to $20,000 (joint owners may double)
  • Wyo. Stat. § 1-20-104 - Real property or mobile home you occupy to $20,000 (joint owners may double)
  • Wyo. Stat. § 1-20-103 - Spouse or child of deceased owner may claim homestead exemption