Bankruptcy Court Information For San Diego, CA

San Diego, California 92126
.

Residents of San Diego County, California file bankruptcy in California Southern District Bankruptcy Court

1 courthouse serves the California Southern District Bankruptcy Court.

CA Bankruptcy InformationCalifornia Southern District Bankruptcy Court


Counties served by the California Southern District Bankruptcy Court:

Imperial, San Diego,


Three Kinds of Information You Will Need from the Court

(Note: Court websites change often and links go out of date. If a link does not work, go to the home page for the court and look for the materials from there.)

Official Website of the
California Southern District Bankruptcy Court

Official Court Website

* Home page

What you'll find there

You'll need to file your papers with one of the courthouses that serve the California Southern District Bankruptcy Court.

Pre-COVID, you had to go to court, in person, at least once to meet with the bankruptcy trustee for your 341 hearing. During the Coronavirus pandemic, those meetings were typically done by phone or zoom. A few courts may still allow that.


Online Filing (eSR)

Online Filing - California Southern District Bankruptcy Court

You're in luck! The California Southern District Bankruptcy Court offers online filing! About one quarter of the nation's bankruptcy courts have started to offer electronic filing (eSR) for debtors not represented by an attorney. Your court is on the leading edge of this exciting new option! Click here to learn more about how to file online with the California Southern District Bankruptcy Court.


Where To Start

Before you file, there are three kinds of information you'll need to get from the court's website:

1. Info on Filing Without an Attorney

Court "Pro Se" Info

Information specific to your district

You'll need information specifically about your particular court's procedures.

Fortunately, the California Southern District Bankruptcy Court offers information specifically designed for people filing without an attorney. Virtually all courts link to the generic national information mentioned above. The California Southern District Bankruptcy Court offers specific guidance about local procedures.

General information about how to file

If you're new to the bankruptcy process, the website of the US Courts Adminstrative Office now offers a basic orentation page for those filing bankruptcy without an attorney. The information inlcudes a Bankruptcy Basics video in English Spanish and Creole. The half hour video is split into chapters so you can go back and review parts that went by too fast the first time.

2. Local Rules

Local Rules - CAS

Each court has its own rules about filing procedure, how to list creditor's names and addresses, and they tend to be fussy about it.

You must comply with the details of the process, such as filing dates, filing procedures, fees, and a myriad of other bureaucratic wonderfulness. Depending on how poorly they're written, your court's local rules probably won't make much sense to you. Don't worry. You may not be affected by most of the rules.

However, you will need to follow the rules about filing procedure and how to format the creditors' "mailing matrix" (a list of creditor's names and addresses).

Your court publishes plain-English instructions for those filing without a lawyer in the California Southern District Bankruptcy Court . Use that first, rather than trying to read the actual rules.

How to File for BankruptcyChapters 6 and 7 of How to File for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy offer more information on what to look for in local rules and how to ask the court clerk for the information you need as you prepare your paperwork and fill in yourforms.

3. Court Forms

Local Forms

Bankruptcy is a forms-intensive process, kind of like doing a long tax return.

The main forms you use in bankruptcy are federal forms, used nationwide in all bankruptcy courts.

Your bankruptcy court may have additional local forms for the California Southern District Bankruptcy Court for dealing with things like the list of creditors.

Other information from the court

Most courts link to a downloadable U.S. Courts publication called "Bankruptcy Basics." This offers a decent overview of Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 bankruptcy -- but has no information about how to actually file or fill in the mountain of forms.

Now most courts also link to a helpful YouTube video created by the Federal Courts that explains the bankruptcy process.

^ Top

Courthouses of the California Southern District Bankruptcy Court

San Diego

Court Website info

Jacob Weinberger United States Courthouse
325 West F Street
San Diego, California 92101
(619) 557-5620

Serving Counties:

Maps: Google - Yahoo

^ Top

California Southern District Bankruptcy Court List of Private Trustees by Chapter

Source: The U.S Trustee Program - California List of Private Trustees by Chapter

CALIFORNIA

 

Note: The individuals listed are private parties, not government employees.

 

 

TRUSTEE(S) COVERING THE CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

 

Karl T. Anderson
340 South Farrell Drive
Suite A210
Palm Springs, CA 92262
E-mail: ktabktrustee@gmail.com
Phone: (760) 778-4889
Fax: (760) 778-8869

 

Wesley H. Avery
758 E. Colorado Blvd., Suite 210
Pasadena, CA 91101
E-mail: wes@averytrustee.com
Phone: (626) 395-7576
Fax: (661) 430-5467

 

Lynda T. Bui
100 Spectrum Center Dr., Suite 600
Irvine, CA 92656
E-mail: Lbui@shulmanbastian.com
Phone: (949) 340-3400
Fax: (949) 340-3000

 

Thomas H. Casey
22342 Avenida Empresa, Suite 245
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688
E-mail: tomcasey@tomcaseylaw.com
Phone: (949) 766-8787
Fax: (949) 766-9896

 

Arturo M. Cisneros
3403 10th Street, Suite 714
Riverside, CA 92501
E-mail: Arturo@mclaw.org
Phone: (951)-682-9705
Fax: (951)-682-9707

 

Charles W. Daff
2107 North Broadway,
Suite 308
Santa Ana, CA 92708
E-mail: charleswdaff@gmail.com
Phone: (657) 218-4800
Fax: (657) 218-4858

 

Carolyn Anne Dye
15030 Ventura Blvd., Suite 527
Sherman Oaks, CA 91403
E-mail: cdye@cadye.com
Phone: (818) 287-7003
Fax: (323) 987-5763

 

Howard Marc Ehrenberg
333 South Grand Ave., Suite 3400
Los Angeles, CA 90071
E-mail: hehrenberg@sulmeyerlaw.com
Phone: (213) 626-2311
Fax: (213) 629-4520

 

Jeremy W. Faith
16030 Ventura Blvd., Suite 470
Encino, CA 91436
E-mail: jeremy@marguliesfaithlaw.com
Phone: (818) 705-2777
Fax: (888) 463-8799

 

Todd A. Frealy
3403 Tenth Street
Suite 709
Riverside, CA 92501
E-mail: TAF@lnbyg.com
Phone: (951) 784-4122
Fax: (951) 784-7143

 

Jeffrey I. Golden
650 Town Center Drive
Suite 600
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
E-mail: jgolden@wgllp.com
Phone: (714) 966-1000
Fax: (714) 966-1002

 

Amy L. Goldman
633 West 5th Street
Suite 4000
Los Angeles, CA 90071
E-mail: amy.goldman@lewisbrisbois.com
Phone: (213)250-1800

 

Rosendo Gonzalez
530 S. Hewitt St
Suite 148
Los Angeles, CA 90013
E-mail: rossgonzalez@gonzalezplc.com
Phone: (213)452-0071

 

David M. Goodrich
650 Town Center Drive
Suite 600
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
E-mail: dgoodrich@wgllp.com
Phone: (714) 966-1000
Fax: (714) 966-1002

 

David Keith Gottlieb
16255 Ventura Blvd., Suite 440
Encino, CA 91436
E-mail: dgottlieb@dkgallc.com
Phone: (818) 539-7720
Fax: (818) 436-0729

 

Howard B. Grobstein
9363 Magnolia Avenue
Riverside, CA 92503
E-mail: hgrobstein@gtllp.com
Phone: (951) 234-0951
Fax: (951) 684-2363

 

Weneta M. A. Kosmala
4425 Jamboree, Suite 183
Newport Beach, CA 92660
E-mail: wkosmala@kosmalalaw.com
Phone: (714) 708-8190

 

Brad D. Krasnoff
1901 Avenue of the Stars
Suite 450
Los Angeles, CA 90067 -6006
E-mail: bkrasnoff@danninggill.com
Phone: (310) 277-0077
Fax: (310) 277-5735

 

Heide C. Kurtz
2515 South Western Avenue, Suite 11
San Pedro, CA 90732
E-mail: hkurtz@hkurtzco.com
Phone: (310) 832-3604

 

Sam S. Leslie
1130 S. Flower Street, Suite 312
Los Angeles, CA 90015
E-mail: sleslie@trusteeleslie.com
Phone: (323) 987-5780
Fax: (323) 987-5763

 

Richard A. Marshack
870 Roosevelt
Irvine, CA 92620
E-mail: RMarshack@MarshackHays.com
Phone: (949) 333-7777
Fax: (949) 333-7778

 

Peter J. Mastan
550 S. Hope Street, Suite 1765
Los Angeles, CA 90071
E-mail: Peter.Mastan@Dinsmore.com
Phone: (213) 335-7738
Fax: (213) 335-7740

 

Sandra K. McBeth
7343 El Camino Real, #185
Atascadero, CA 93422
E-mail: smcbeth@mcbethlegal.com
Phone: (805) 464-2959
Fax: (805) 357-5905

 

John J. Menchaca
835 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 300
Los Angeles, CA 90017
E-mail: jmenchaca@menchacacpa.com
Phone: (213) 683-3317
Fax: (213) 455-0111

 

Elissa D. Miller
333 South Grand Ave., Suite 3400
Los Angeles, CA 90071
E-mail: emiller@sulmeyerlaw.com
Phone: (213) 626-2311
Fax: (213) 629-4520

 

Jerry Namba
504 East Chapel Street
Santa Maria, CA 93454
E-mail: jnambalaw@yahoo.com
Phone: (805) 922-2575

 

Karen S. Naylor
4910 Birch Street
Suite 120
Newport Beach, CA 92660
E-mail: karen@ringstadlaw.com
Phone: (949) 748-7936
Fax: (949) 851-6926

 

John P. Pringle
6055 E. Washington Blvd. #500
Los Angeles, CA 90040 -2466
E-mail: jpringle@rpmlaw.com
Phone: (323)724-3117
Fax: (323) 724-5410

 

Jason M. Rund
270 Coral Circle
El Segundo, CA 90245
E-mail: jrund@srlawyers.com
Phone: (310) 640-1200

 

David Seror
21650 Oxnard Street, Suite 500
Woodland Hills, CA 91367
E-mail: dseror@bg.law
Phone: (818) 827-9200
Fax: (818) 936-0624

 

Larry D. Simons
3610 Central Avenue, Suite 400
Riverside, CA 92506
E-mail: larry@lsimonslaw.com
Phone: (951) 686-6300
Fax: (951) 742-4733

 

Diane C. Weil
5950 Canoga Avenue Suite 400
Woodlawn Hills, CA 91367
E-mail: dcweil@dcweillaw.com
Phone: (818) 946-1270
Fax: (310) 277-5735

 

Robert S. Whitmore
3600 Lime Street, Suite 616
Riverside, CA 92501
E-mail: rswtrustee@yahoo.com
Phone: (951) 276-9292

 

Edward M. Wolkowitz
2818 LaCienega Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90034
E-mail: emw@lnbyg.com
Phone: (310) 229-3364
Fax: (310) 229-1244

 

Timothy J. Yoo
2818 La Cienega Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90034
E-mail: tjy@lnbyg.com
Phone: (310) 229-1234
Fax: (310) 861-0929

 

Nancy J. Zamora
633 West 5th Street, Suite 2600
Los Angeles, CA 90071
E-mail: zamora3@aol.com
Phone: (213) 488-9411
Fax: (213) 488-9418

TRUSTEE(S) COVERING THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

 

Irma C. Edmonds
P.O. Box 3608
Pinedale, CA 93650
E-mail: icetrustee@gmail.com
Phone: (559) 221-2233

 

Gary R. Farrar
P.O. Box 576097
Modesto, CA 95357 -6097
E-mail: gfarrar@ecf.eqpiqsysmtems.com
Phone: (209)551-1962

 

Nichole B. Farris
2607 Forest Ave., Ste. 120
Chico, CA 95928
E-mail: nikki@nfarrislaw.com
Phone: (530) 898-1488

 

Peter L. Fear
P.O. Box 28490
Fresno, CA 93729
E-mail: trustee@trusteefear.com
Phone: (559) 464-5295

 

J. Michael Hopper
P.O. Box 73826
Davis, CA 95617
E-mail: jmhopper@jmhtrustee.com
Phone: (530)757-2033

 

Kimberly J. Husted
11230 Gold Express Drive
Suite 310-411
Gold River, CA 95670
E-mail: kh7trustee@gmail.com
Phone: (916) 635-1939

 

Geoffrey M. Richards
P.O. Box 579
Orinda, CA 94563
E-mail: GRTrustee@pacbell.net
Phone: (916) 288-8365

 

James E. Salven
P.O. Box 25970
Fresno, CA 93729 -5970
E-mail: jim@salven-cpa.com
Phone: (559)230-1095

 

Susan K. Smith
2701 Del Paso Road, Suite 130-PMB 399
Sacramento, CA 95835
E-mail: sksmith3@earthlink.net
Phone: (916) 833-2936
Fax: (916) 313-3521

 

Henry M. Spacone
P.O. Box 255808
Sacramento, CA 95865 -5808
E-mail: hspacone@yahoo.com
Phone: (916) 481-3150

 

Jeffrey M. Vetter
P.O. Box 2424
Bakersfield, CA 93303
E-mail: jeffreyvetter@hotmail.com
Phone: (661)809-6806

TRUSTEE(S) COVERING THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

 

Kari Bowyer
P.O. Box 700096
San Jose, CA 95170
E-mail: trusteebowyer@gmail.com
Phone: (408) 641-1327

 

Frode "Fred" S. Hjelmeset
P.O. Box 4188
Mountain View, CA 94040
E-mail: fhtrustee@gmail.com
Phone: (650) 386-5634

 

Timothy W. Hoffman
P.O. Box 1761
Sebastopol, CA 95473
E-mail: twh1761@yahoo.com
Phone: (707) 874-2066

 

Janina M. Hoskins
P.O. Box 158
Middletown, CA 95461
E-mail: Jmelder7@aol.com
Phone: (707) 569-9508
Fax: (707) 569-9518

 

Doris A. Kaelin
P.O. Box 1582
Santa Cruz, CA 95061
E-mail: dktrustee@gmail.com
Phone: (831) 600-8093

 

Michael G. Kasolas
P.O. Box 27526
San Francisco, CA 94127
E-mail: trustee@kasolas.net
Phone: (415) 504-1926

 

Sarah L. Little
2415 San Ramon Valley Blvd.
Suite 4432
San Ramon, CA 94583
E-mail: sarah@littletrustee.com
Phone: (510) 485-0740

 

Paul J. Mansdorf
1569 Solano Ave. #703
Berkeley, CA 94707
Phone: (510) 526-5993

 

E. Lynn Schoenmann
35 Miller Ave., #298
Mill Valley, CA 94941
E-mail: tteeschoenmann@earthlink.net
Phone: (415) 569-4390
Fax: (415) 362-0416

 

Marlene G. Weinstein
1511 M Sycamore Ave., #259
Hercules, CA 94547
E-mail: mgwtrustee@mgwtrustee.com
Phone: (925) 482-8982

TRUSTEE(S) COVERING THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

 

Leonard J. Ackerman
6977 Navajo Road, #124
San Diego, CA 92119
E-mail: ljabkatty@gmail.com
Phone: (619) 463-0555

 

Christopher R. Barclay
P.O. Box 2819
La Mesa, CA 91943 -2819
E-mail: admin@crb7trustee.com
Phone: (619) 255-1529

 

Gerald Holt Davis
P.O. Box 124539
San Diego, CA 92112 -4539
E-mail: ghd@trusteedavis.com
Phone: (619) 400-9997

 

Leslie T. Gladstone
5656 La Jolla Blvd., Ste. B
La Jolla, CA 92037
E-mail: leslieg@flgsd.com
Phone: (858)454-9887
Fax: (858)454-9596

 

Ronald E. Stadtmueller
10755 Scripps Poway Pkwy., #370
San Diego, CA 92131
E-mail: ronstadtmueller@aol.com
Phone: (858) 564-9310