BANKRUPTCY: How to File Courts Forms Means Test Exemptions Lawyers

Mississippi Bankruptcy Exemptions

Mississippi Exemption Notes

Unlike some states, Mississippi state exemption law offers debtors one, large, rather generous $50,000 "wildcard" exemption that applies to any property, or real estate. 

In addition there's. $10,000 exemption for various kinds of  personal property, and a $75,000 homestead exemption.

The Federal bankruptcy exemptions are NOT available in Mississippi. 


Can I use the §522(d) Federal Bankruptcy Exemptions in Mississippi?

No. Miss. Code Ann. § 85-3-2.



Property you own & occupy to $75,000; if over 60 and married or widowed may claim a former residence; property cannot exceed 160 acres; sale proceeds exempt
Mobile home (as personal property) to $30,000 (Mobile home does not qualify as homestead unless you own land on which it is located)

Motor Vehicle

No specific exemption


$50,000 of any property, whether real, personal or mixed, tangible or intangible, including deposits of money, available to any Mississippi resident who is 70 years of age or older.

Personal Property

Tangible personal property to $10,000: any items worth less than $200 each; furniture, dishes, kitchenware, household goods, appliances, 1 radio & 1 TV, 1 firearm, 1 lawnmower, clothing, wedding rings, motor vehicles, tools of the trade, books, crops, health aids, domestic animals (does not include works of art, antiques, jewelry, or electronic entertainment equipment)

See Also:
Insurance, Pensions, Public Benefits, Tools of Trade, Wages & Miscellaneous