Updated: 2020-07-27 by
California has raised its homestead exemption, effective January 1, 2021, from $75,000 under existing law, to up to $600,000, for most Californians in urban areas.
In more rural counties the exemption may only be as much as $300,000.
The actual amount depends on the median sales price of a home in your county in the preceding calendar year, but can't be more than $600,000 or less than $300,000.
Most California counties in urban areas have median home prices that are above $600,000 for the past several years. The actual amounts for 2021 for each county will not be known until the end of 2020.