Bakersfield, CA Wage & Hour Law

Bakersfield, California 93263
@
 

What You Need to Know About California Minimum Wage, Overtime, and Other Wage Claims

You can recover unpaid wages, overtime, and tips in California if you know your rights and how to enforce them. Does your employer owe you unpaid wages or overtime? Or, maybe you need information on the breaks you’re entitled to, overtime rules, or your right to tips. If so, you'll find the information you need on this site to learn what you can do in California to get the money you have earned.

Here, we answer many common questions about wage and hour law in California, including:

 

A few things to keep in mind as you explore this site:

1. Wage and hour laws differ from state to state.

Most states have enacted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures for employees to follow if they have been treated unfairly. These regulations and procedures vary from state to state. Start by finding out about your rights to pay in California.

2. Some states simply adopt the federal minimum wage and overtime standards, but most states have higher standards.

The U.S. Department of Labor  covers minimum wage, overtime, and other wage and hour matters. In states that have not adopted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures, your rights are set out by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

The California Department of Industrial Relations is the agency that enforces labor laws in California. Check there to find out more about minimum wage and overtime rules in California.

The minimum wage in California is $16 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in The Golden State must be paid at least $16 an hour. 

As of April 1, 2024, fast food workers minimum wage is $20 per hour. 

Quite a few local governments in California have passed ordinances establishing a higher minimum wage. If you work in one of these cities or counties, you are entitled to earn the higher local minimum wage amount.

Bakersfield Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Bakersfield, California, is $16 an hour, the state minimum wage. However, cities in California are free to adopt their own higher minimum wage, and many have done so. To find out whether Bakersfield has passed its own minimum wage law since we last updated, visit the city's website at https://www.bakersfieldcity.us/

 

Kern County Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Kern County is $16 an hour, the state minimum wage. To find out if Kern County has passed its own minimum wage law, visit https://www.kerncounty.com/.

 

Check California Department of Industrial Relations to find out more.

3. You are entitled to certain payments when your employment ends.

Your final paycheck must include certain amounts, regardless of whether you resigned, were laid off, or were fired. Find out whether your former employer met California’s final paycheck requirements.



Bakersfield, CA
Wage & Hour by Zip Code

Wages
Your Rights to Wages

Tips
Tips

Hours and Time Off
Work Hours and Time Off

Overtime
Job Classification & Overtime

Enforcement
Wage and Hour Enforcement

Lawyers
Wage and Hour Lawyers



/static/WHZ/homepage/CA.php