Alabama Wage & Hour Law

Birmingham, Alabama 35201

What You Need to Know About Alabama Minimum Wage, Overtime, and Other Wage Claims

You can recover unpaid wages, overtime, and tips in Alabama if you know your rights and how to enforce them. Does your employer owe you unpaid wages or overtime? Or, maybe you need information on the breaks you’re entitled to, overtime rules, or your right to tips. If so, you'll find the information you need on this site to learn what you can do in Alabama to get the money you have earned.

Here, we answer many common questions about wage and hour law in Alabama, including:


A few things to keep in mind as you explore this site:

1. Wage and hour laws differ from state to state.

Most states have enacted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures for employees to follow if they have been treated unfairly. These regulations and procedures vary from state to state. Start by finding out about your rights to pay in Alabama.

2. Some states simply adopt the federal minimum wage and overtime standards, but most states have higher standards.

The U.S. Department of Labor  covers minimum wage, overtime, and other wage and hour matters. In states that have not adopted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures, your rights are set out by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

The Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division is the agency that enforces labor laws in Alabama. Check there to find out more about minimum wage and overtime rules in Alabama.

Alabama does not have its own minimum wage law. Therefore, employees in Alabama are entitled to earn at least the federal minimum wage, $7.25 an hour. 

Birmingham Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Birmingham is currently $7.25 an hour. Although the city of Birmingham passed an ordinance in 2015 requiring employers in the city to pay a higher minimum wage ($10.10 an hour), the Alabama state legislature stopped the city's minimum wage law from going into effect and declared that no local government could pass a higher minimum wage than the state-wide wage, currently $7.25 an hour. 


Jefferson County Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Jefferson County is $7.25 an hour, the federal minimum wage. To find out if Jefferson County has passed its own minimum wage law, visit


Check Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division to find out more.

3. You are entitled to certain payments when your employment ends.

Your final paycheck must include certain amounts, regardless of whether you resigned, were laid off, or were fired. Find out whether your former employer met Alabama’s final paycheck requirements

Alabama does not set a deadline for an employer to pay your final paycheck.

Wage & Hour by Zip Code

Your Rights to Wages


Hours and Time Off
Work Hours and Time Off

Job Classification & Overtime

Wage and Hour Enforcement

Wage and Hour Lawyers