Delaware Wage & Hour Law

Newark, Delaware 19702

What You Need to Know About Delaware Minimum Wage, Overtime, and Other Wage Claims

You can recover unpaid wages, overtime, and tips in Delaware if you know your rights and how to enforce them. Does your employer owe you unpaid wages or overtime? Or, maybe you need information on the breaks you’re entitled to, overtime rules, or your right to tips. If so, you'll find the information you need on this site to learn what you can do in Delaware to get the money you have earned.

Here, we answer many common questions about wage and hour law in Delaware, including:


A few things to keep in mind as you explore this site:

1. Wage and hour laws differ from state to state.

Most states have enacted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures for employees to follow if they have been treated unfairly. These regulations and procedures vary from state to state. Start by finding out about your rights to pay in Delaware.

2. Some states simply adopt the federal minimum wage and overtime standards, but most states have higher standards.

The U.S. Department of Labor  covers minimum wage, overtime, and other wage and hour matters. In states that have not adopted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures, your rights are set out by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

The Delaware Department of Labor is the agency that enforces labor laws in Delaware. Check there to find out more about minimum wage and overtime rules in Delaware.

The minimum wage in Delaware is $13.25 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in Delaware must be paid at least $13.25 an hour. 


New Castle County Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in New Castle County is $13.25, the state minimum wage. 


Check Delaware Department of Labor to find out more.

3. You are entitled to certain payments when your employment ends.

Your final paycheck must include certain amounts, regardless of whether you resigned, were laid off, or were fired. Find out whether your former employer met Delaware’s final paycheck requirements

If you are fired, quit, laid off, or otherwise leave your job in Delaware, your employer must pay your final paycheck on the next regular payday or three business days after the last day you worked, whichever is later. 

Wage & Hour by Zip Code

Your Rights to Wages


Hours and Time Off
Work Hours and Time Off

Job Classification & Overtime

Wage and Hour Enforcement

Wage and Hour Lawyers