New Hampshire Wage & Hour Law

Manchester, New Hampshire 03101

What You Need to Know About New Hampshire Minimum Wage, Overtime, and Other Wage Claims

You can recover unpaid wages, overtime, and tips in New Hampshire if you know your rights and how to enforce them. Does your employer owe you unpaid wages or overtime? Or, maybe you need information on the breaks you’re entitled to, overtime rules, or your right to tips. If so, you'll find the information you need on this site to learn what you can do in New Hampshire to get the money you have earned.

Here, we answer many common questions about wage and hour law in New Hampshire, including:


A few things to keep in mind as you explore this site:

1. Wage and hour laws differ from state to state.

Most states have enacted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures for employees to follow if they have been treated unfairly. These regulations and procedures vary from state to state. Start by finding out about your rights to pay in New Hampshire.

2. Some states simply adopt the federal minimum wage and overtime standards, but most states have higher standards.

The U.S. Department of Labor  covers minimum wage, overtime, and other wage and hour matters. In states that have not adopted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures, your rights are set out by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

The New Hampshire Department of Labor is the agency that enforces labor laws in New Hampshire. Check there to find out more about minimum wage and overtime rules in New Hampshire.

The minimum wage in New Hamphire is the same as the federal minimum wage: $7.25 an hour.

Manchester Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Manchester is currently $7.25 an hour, the state minimum wage.


Hillsborough County Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Hillsborough County is $7.25 an hour, the state minimum wage. 


Check New Hampshire Department of Labor to find out more.

3. You are entitled to certain payments when your employment ends.

Your final paycheck must include certain amounts, regardless of whether you resigned, were laid off, or were fired. Find out whether your former employer met New Hampshire’s final paycheck requirements

If you are fired in New Hampshire, your employer must pay your final paycheck within 72 hours of your dismissal. If you are laid off or you quit, your employer must pay your final paycheck on the next regular payday.

New Hampshire
Wage & Hour by Zip Code

Your Rights to Wages


Hours and Time Off
Work Hours and Time Off

Job Classification & Overtime

Wage and Hour Enforcement

Wage and Hour Lawyers