New Mexico Wage & Hour Law

Albuquerque, New Mexico 87101

What You Need to Know About New Mexico Minimum Wage, Overtime, and Other Wage Claims

You can recover unpaid wages, overtime, and tips in New Mexico if you know your rights and how to enforce them. Does your employer owe you unpaid wages or overtime? Or, maybe you need information on the breaks you’re entitled to, overtime rules, or your right to tips. If so, you'll find the information you need on this site to learn what you can do in New Mexico to get the money you have earned.

Here, we answer many common questions about wage and hour law in New Mexico, including:


A few things to keep in mind as you explore this site:

1. Wage and hour laws differ from state to state.

Most states have enacted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures for employees to follow if they have been treated unfairly. These regulations and procedures vary from state to state. Start by finding out about your rights to pay in New Mexico.

2. Some states simply adopt the federal minimum wage and overtime standards, but most states have higher standards.

The U.S. Department of Labor  covers minimum wage, overtime, and other wage and hour matters. In states that have not adopted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures, your rights are set out by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

The New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions is the agency that enforces labor laws in New Mexico. Check there to find out more about minimum wage and overtime rules in New Mexico.

The minimum wage in New Mexico is $12 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in The Land of Enchantment must be paid at least $12 an hour. A handful of local governments in New Mexico have passed their own minimum wage ordinances.

Albuquerque Minimum Wage

The city of Albuquerque’s minimum wage is currently $12 an hour.


Bernalillo County Minimum Wage

In the unincorporated area of Bernalillo County (outside the city limits of Albuquerque), the current minimum wage is $9.45 an hour. Because this is lower than New Mexico's current minimum wage, workers in Bernalillo County are entitled to the higher state amount. 


Check New Mexico Department of Workforce Solutions to find out more.

3. You are entitled to certain payments when your employment ends.

Your final paycheck must include certain amounts, regardless of whether you resigned, were laid off, or were fired. Find out whether your former employer met New Mexico’s final paycheck requirements

If you are fired in New Mexico, your employer must pay your final paycheck upon your demand for payment and no later than five days after your demand for payment. If you quit, your employer must pay your final paycheck on the next regular payday.

New Mexico
Wage & Hour by Zip Code

Your Rights to Wages


Hours and Time Off
Work Hours and Time Off

Job Classification & Overtime

Wage and Hour Enforcement

Wage and Hour Lawyers