Vermont Wage & Hour Law

Burlington, Vermont 05401

What You Need to Know About Vermont Minimum Wage, Overtime, and Other Wage Claims

You can recover unpaid wages, overtime, and tips in Vermont if you know your rights and how to enforce them. Does your employer owe you unpaid wages or overtime? Or, maybe you need information on the breaks you’re entitled to, overtime rules, or your right to tips. If so, you'll find the information you need on this site to learn what you can do in Vermont to get the money you have earned.

Here, we answer many common questions about wage and hour law in Vermont, including:


A few things to keep in mind as you explore this site:

1. Wage and hour laws differ from state to state.

Most states have enacted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures for employees to follow if they have been treated unfairly. These regulations and procedures vary from state to state. Start by finding out about your rights to pay in Vermont.

2. Some states simply adopt the federal minimum wage and overtime standards, but most states have higher standards.

The U.S. Department of Labor  covers minimum wage, overtime, and other wage and hour matters. In states that have not adopted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures, your rights are set out by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

The Vermont Department of Labor is the agency that enforces labor laws in Vermont. Check there to find out more about minimum wage and overtime rules in Vermont.

The minimum wage in Vermont is $13.67 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in The Green Mountain State must be paid at least $13.67 an hour. 



Check Vermont Department of Labor to find out more.

3. You are entitled to certain payments when your employment ends.

Your final paycheck must include certain amounts, regardless of whether you resigned, were laid off, or were fired. Find out whether your former employer met Vermont’s final paycheck requirements

If you are fired, laid off, or otherwise involuntarily lose your job in Vermont, your employer must pay your final paycheck within 72 hours after your dismissal. If you quit, your employer must pay your final paycheck on the next regular payday or the next Friday (if there is no regular payday).

Wage & Hour by Zip Code

Your Rights to Wages


Hours and Time Off
Work Hours and Time Off

Job Classification & Overtime

Wage and Hour Enforcement

Wage and Hour Lawyers