West Virginia Wage & Hour Law

Saint Albans, West Virginia 25177

What You Need to Know About West Virginia Minimum Wage, Overtime, and Other Wage Claims

You can recover unpaid wages, overtime, and tips in West Virginia if you know your rights and how to enforce them. Does your employer owe you unpaid wages or overtime? Or, maybe you need information on the breaks you’re entitled to, overtime rules, or your right to tips. If so, you'll find the information you need on this site to learn what you can do in West Virginia to get the money you have earned.

Here, we answer many common questions about wage and hour law in West Virginia, including:


A few things to keep in mind as you explore this site:

1. Wage and hour laws differ from state to state.

Most states have enacted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures for employees to follow if they have been treated unfairly. These regulations and procedures vary from state to state. Start by finding out about your rights to pay in West Virginia.

2. Some states simply adopt the federal minimum wage and overtime standards, but most states have higher standards.

The U.S. Department of Labor  covers minimum wage, overtime, and other wage and hour matters. In states that have not adopted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures, your rights are set out by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

The West Virginia Division of Labor is the agency that enforces labor laws in West Virginia. Check there to find out more about minimum wage and overtime rules in West Virginia.

The minimum wage in West Virgina is $8.75 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in The Mountaineer State must be paid at least $8.75 an hour. 


Kanawha County Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Kanawha County is currently $8.75 an hour, the state minimum wage.


Check West Virginia Division of Labor to find out more.

3. You are entitled to certain payments when your employment ends.

Your final paycheck must include certain amounts, regardless of whether you resigned, were laid off, or were fired. Find out whether your former employer met West Virginia’s final paycheck requirements

If you leave your job for any reason in West Virginia, whether by your own choice or your employer's action, your employer must pay your final paycheck no later than the next regular payday.

West Virginia
Wage & Hour by Zip Code

Your Rights to Wages


Hours and Time Off
Work Hours and Time Off

Job Classification & Overtime

Wage and Hour Enforcement

Wage and Hour Lawyers