Hawaii Wage & Hour Law

Waipahu, Hawaii 96797

What You Need to Know About Hawaii Minimum Wage, Overtime, and Other Wage Claims

You can recover unpaid wages, overtime, and tips in Hawaii if you know your rights and how to enforce them. Does your employer owe you unpaid wages or overtime? Or, maybe you need information on the breaks you’re entitled to, overtime rules, or your right to tips. If so, you'll find the information you need on this site to learn what you can do in Hawaii to get the money you have earned.

Here, we answer many common questions about wage and hour law in Hawaii, including:


A few things to keep in mind as you explore this site:

1. Wage and hour laws differ from state to state.

Most states have enacted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures for employees to follow if they have been treated unfairly. These regulations and procedures vary from state to state. Start by finding out about your rights to pay in Hawaii.

2. Some states simply adopt the federal minimum wage and overtime standards, but most states have higher standards.

The U.S. Department of Labor  covers minimum wage, overtime, and other wage and hour matters. In states that have not adopted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures, your rights are set out by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

The Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations is the agency that enforces labor laws in Hawaii. Check there to find out more about minimum wage and overtime rules in Hawaii.

The minimum wage in Hawaii is $14 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in The Aloha State must be paid at least $14 an hour. 


Honolulu County Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Honolulu County is $14 an hour, the state minimum wage. 


Check Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations to find out more.

3. You are entitled to certain payments when your employment ends.

Your final paycheck must include certain amounts, regardless of whether you resigned, were laid off, or were fired. Find out whether your former employer met Hawaii’s final paycheck requirements

If you are fired or otherwise let go by your employer  in Hawaii, your employer must pay your final paycheck at the time of the termination, or not later than the next working day. If you quit, your employer must pay your final paycheck on  the next regular payday unless you gave one pay period's notice of your intention to quit. In that case, your  employer must pay your final paycheck immediately at the time you quit. 

Wage & Hour by Zip Code

Your Rights to Wages


Hours and Time Off
Work Hours and Time Off

Job Classification & Overtime

Wage and Hour Enforcement

Wage and Hour Lawyers