Minimum Wage in Fairbanks North Star Borough, Alaska
Wage & Hour Law > US Minimum Wage > Alaska > Fairbanks North Star Borough Minimum Wage
College, AK Minimum Wage and Wage Claims
What Is the Minimum Wage in College, AK?
You are entitled to the highest minimum wage that applies where you work, whether set by your city, county, or state government. (Most cities and counties don’t have their own minimum wage laws.)
Alaska Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in Alaska is $10.85 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in Alaska must be paid at least $10.85 an hour.
Learn more about the minimum wage in Alaska at https://labor.alaska.gov/lss/whhome.htm.
What Is the Tipped Minimum Wage in College, AK?
Some states and local governments allow employers to pay tipped employees a lower minimum hourly wage; others don't.
Alaska Tipped Minimum Wage
The tipped minimum wage in Alaska is the same as the regular minimum wage: $10.85 an hour. Tips don't count against the employer's obligation to pay the minimum wage.
Who Enforces College, AK Minimum Wage Laws?
Alaska Enforcement Agency
If you have questions about Alaska's minimum wage, contact the
Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Phone: Anchorage: 907-269-4900; Fairbanks: 907-451-2886; Juneau: 907-465-4842
Find the nearest office of the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development at https://labor.alaska.gov/offices/wh-of.htm.
How to File a Wage Claim in College, AK
If you were not paid the minimum wage in College, AK, you may have the right to file a wage claim or complaint with a government agency. Be sure to look at the wage claim materials (below) for the agency that enforces the law you believe was violated, whether city, county, or state.
All jurisdictions impose a time limit on how far back you may claim unpaid wages, so it's important to file your claim quickly. There may be other restrictions on the claims you may file, such as dollar-amount limits or limits on the agency’s ability to force employers to comply with the law. You may be required to ask your employer to pay you correctly before you file a claim. And, you almost always have the option to go straight to court and file a lawsuit instead of filing a wage claim with a government agency. For these reasons, it often makes sense to talk to an experienced wage and hour lawyer to make sure you know all of your options, understand the strength of your claims, and decide how to proceed.
Filing a Wage Claim with the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development
Find the form and instructions to file a wage claim in Alaska at the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development website.
Get Help With College, AK Wage Claims and Lawsuits
If you are considering filing a wage claim or lawsuit, you may want to speak to a local wage and hour attorney. The resources below can help you find a lawyer near you.
College, AK Free or Low-Cost Legal Assistance
Legal aid offices provide free legal assistance to low-income people. Typically, you must qualify for legal aid based on your income. Visit AlaskaLawHelp to find local resources and legal aid offices.
Some law schools have free legal clinics that provide assistance with specific problems, including wage and hour issues and other employment matters. Find a list of law schools offering legal clinics on a variety of issues at the American Bar Association Center for Pro Bono.
College, AK Lawyer Directories
Lawyer Referral Services in Alaska. Check with the Alaska Bar Association for information on lawyer referral services in College, AK. Lawyer referral services match people with attorneys who specialize in particular legal fields, such as wage and hour law.
NELA’s “Find-A-Lawyer” Service. Search the National Employment Lawyer’s Association’s membership to find College, AK lawyers who specialize in wage and hour claims and other employment issues.