Minimum Wage in Weld County, Colorado
Wage & Hour Law > US Minimum Wage > Colorado > Weld County Minimum Wage
Loveland, CO Minimum Wage and Wage Claims
What Is the Minimum Wage in Loveland, CO?
You are entitled to the highest minimum wage that applies where you work, whether set by your city, county, or state government. (Most cities and counties don’t have their own minimum wage laws.)
Colorado Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in Colorado is $13.65 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in Colorado must be paid at least $13.65 an hour.
Visit https://cdle.colorado.gov/wage-and-hour-law/minimum-wage to find out more about Colorado’s minimum wage.
What Is the Tipped Minimum Wage in Loveland, CO?
Some states and local governments allow employers to pay tipped employees a lower minimum hourly wage; others don't.
Colorado Tipped Minimum Wage
In Colorado, your employer may pay you a minimum wage of $10.63 an hour, as long as you earn enough in tips to bring your total hourly pay up to the full minimum wage, $13.65 an hour. If you don’t earn enough in tips to bring your compensation to the full minimum wage, your employer must make up the difference.
Who Enforces Loveland, CO Minimum Wage Laws?
Colorado Enforcement Agency
If you have questions about Colorado's minimum wage, contact the
Colorado Department of Labor and Employment
To find the nearest office of the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment, see https://cdle.colorado.gov/contact-us.
How to File a Wage Claim in Loveland, CO
If you were not paid the minimum wage in Loveland, CO, you may have the right to file a wage claim or complaint with a government agency. Be sure to look at the wage claim materials (below) for the agency that enforces the law you believe was violated, whether city, county, or state.
All jurisdictions impose a time limit on how far back you may claim unpaid wages, so it's important to file your claim quickly. There may be other restrictions on the claims you may file, such as dollar-amount limits or limits on the agency’s ability to force employers to comply with the law. You may be required to ask your employer to pay you correctly before you file a claim. And, you almost always have the option to go straight to court and file a lawsuit instead of filing a wage claim with a government agency. For these reasons, it often makes sense to talk to an experienced wage and hour lawyer to make sure you know all of your options, understand the strength of your claims, and decide how to proceed.
Filing a Wage Claim with the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment
You can find information and forms to file a wage claim with the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment at its website.
Get Help With Loveland, CO Wage Claims and Lawsuits
If you are considering filing a wage claim or lawsuit, you may want to speak to a local wage and hour attorney. The resources below can help you find a lawyer near you.
Loveland, CO Free or Low-Cost Legal Assistance
Legal aid offices provide free legal assistance to low-income people. Typically, you must qualify for legal aid based on your income. Visit Colorado Legal Services to find local resources and legal aid offices.
Some law schools have free legal clinics that provide assistance with specific problems, including wage and hour issues and other employment matters. Find a list of law schools offering legal clinics on a variety of issues at the American Bar Association Center for Pro Bono.
Loveland, CO Lawyer Directories
Lawyer Referral Services in Colorado. Check with the Colorado Bar Association for information on lawyer referral services in Loveland, CO. Lawyer referral services match people with attorneys who specialize in particular legal fields, such as wage and hour law.
NELA’s “Find-A-Lawyer” Service. Search the National Employment Lawyer’s Association’s membership to find Loveland, CO lawyers who specialize in wage and hour claims and other employment issues.