Minimum Wage in Hillsborough County, Florida
Hillsborough County, FL Minimum Wage and Wage Claims
What Is the Minimum Wage in Hillsborough County, FL?
You are entitled to the highest minimum wage that applies where you work, whether set by your city, county, or state government. (Most cities and counties don’t have their own minimum wage laws.)
Hillsborough County Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in Hillsborough County is $11 an hour, the state minimum wage. Florida law prohibits city and county governments from adopting a local minimum wage that's higher than the state minimum wage.
Florida Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in Florida is $11 an hour, as of September 30, 2022. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in The Sunshine State must be paid at least $11 an hour.
For more information on Florida’s minimum wage, see https://www.floridajobs.org/business-growth-and-partnerships/for-employers/display-posters-and-required-notices.
What Is the Tipped Minimum Wage in Hillsborough County, FL?
Some states and local governments allow employers to pay tipped employees a lower minimum hourly wage; others don't.
Florida Tipped Minimum Wage
In Florida, your employer may pay you a minimum wage of $7.98 an hour (as of September 30, 2022), as long as you earn enough in tips to bring your total hourly pay up to the full minimum wage, $11 an hour. If you don’t earn enough in tips to bring your compensation to the full minimum wage, your employer must make up the difference.
Who Enforces Hillsborough County, FL Minimum Wage Laws?
Florida Enforcement Agency
If you have questions about Florida's minimum wage, contact the
Florida Department of Economic Opportunity
107 East Madison Street
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-4120
How to File a Wage Claim in Hillsborough County, FL
If you were not paid the minimum wage in Hillsborough County, FL, you may have the right to file a wage claim or complaint with a government agency. Be sure to look at the wage claim materials (below) for the agency that enforces the law you believe was violated, whether city, county, or state.
All jurisdictions impose a time limit on how far back you may claim unpaid wages, so it's important to file your claim quickly. There may be other restrictions on the claims you may file, such as dollar-amount limits or limits on the agency’s ability to force employers to comply with the law. You may be required to ask your employer to pay you correctly before you file a claim. And, you almost always have the option to go straight to court and file a lawsuit instead of filing a wage claim with a government agency. For these reasons, it often makes sense to talk to an experienced wage and hour lawyer to make sure you know all of your options, understand the strength of your claims, and decide how to proceed.
Filing a Wage Claim with the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity
Florida does not have a wage claim form or other administrative complaint procedure to enforce its minimum wage law. For information on how Florida’s minimum wage law is enforced, see https://www.floridajobs.org/docs/default-source/business-growth-and-partnerships/for-employers/posters-and-required-notices/2022-minimum-wage/2022-florida-minimum-wage-poster-english.pdf.
Get Help With Hillsborough County, FL Wage Claims and Lawsuits
If you are considering filing a wage claim or lawsuit, you may want to speak to a local wage and hour attorney. The resources below can help you find a lawyer near you.
Hillsborough County, FL Free or Low-Cost Legal Assistance
Legal aid offices provide free legal assistance to low-income people. Typically, you must qualify for legal aid based on your income. Visit Florida Courts Legal Aid Information to find local resources and legal aid offices.
Some law schools have free legal clinics that provide assistance with specific problems, including wage and hour issues and other employment matters. Find a list of law schools offering legal clinics on a variety of issues at the American Bar Association Center for Pro Bono.
Hillsborough County, FL Lawyer Directories
Lawyer Referral Services in Florida. Check with the Florida Bar for information on lawyer referral services in Hillsborough County, FL. Lawyer referral services match people with attorneys who specialize in particular legal fields, such as wage and hour law.
NELA’s “Find-A-Lawyer” Service. Search the National Employment Lawyer’s Association’s membership to find Hillsborough County, FL lawyers who specialize in wage and hour claims and other employment issues.