What is Current Minimum Wage in California?

 

The minimum wage in your state may be set by state or federal law.

ADVERTISEMENT -

.
 

The minimum wage in California is $16 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in The Golden State must be paid at least $16 an hour. 

As of April 1, 2024, fast food workers minimum wage is $20 per hour. 

Quite a few local governments in California have passed ordinances establishing a higher minimum wage. If you work in one of these cities or counties, you are entitled to earn the higher local minimum wage amount.

The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets the “floor” minimum wage for eligible workers in the U.S. This means most workers can't be paid less than the federal minimum wage, which is currently $7.25 an hour. But, many states and some local governments set their own minimum wage. Workers are entitled to be paid the highest minimum wage that applies where they work, whether it is set by federal, state, or local law. 

You can find out whether your local government has a minimum wage law, as well as information on how to enforce your minimum wage rights, at our Delano, CA Minimum Wage and Wage Claims page.


ADVERTISEMENT -

Free Overtime Case Evaluation For Delano, CA

Do you have questions about whether you're getting the wages you're entitled to in California? Use the form below to connect with a lawyer through the Nolo / Martindale network of overtime lawyers.
SPONSORED FORM - Nolo/Martindale Attorney Network



Jurisdictional relevance: ST

There are versions of this article for each State.