justice fist holding scales LegalConsumer.com
Empowering Consumers Since 2006
Bankruptcy

Wayne County, NE
Bankruptcy Law

Filing Bankruptcy In Wayne County, NE

Welcome!

Since 2006, more than 10 million consumers have come to this website figure out where they stand in relation to the 2005 (BAPCPA) bankruptcy law, and the  bankruptcy means test. 

Seventeen years later, the Means Test Calculator is still free, and we've updated it to use the latest applicable income and expense standards, for cases filed on or after May 15, 2023.

Local Forms & Instructions

Court Info for Wayne County, NE

How Bankruptcy Handles Property

Nebraska Bankruptcy Exemptions

How Bankruptcy Handles Debt

Debts You CAN Discharge

  • Credit Card Debt,
  • Medical Debt
  • Lawsuit Liability (if not from fraud or willful or malicious injury), 
  • Personal Loans

Debts You Can Discharge Only In Special Cases

Debts You CAN NOT Discharge

What Happens To Secured Debts?

How Bankruptcy Affects Debt Co-Signers

    • Chapter 7 Bankruptcy
    • Chapter 13 Bankruptcy

Bankruptcy Lawyers Near Me

Note: This website is updated as time permits. It is up to you to contact your local court and confirm and update any information you need. Information is not advice. Consult with a bankruptcy lawyer for advice about how the law relates to your exact situation.

ADVERTISEMENT -
Top

Wayne County Bankruptcy Means Test Calculator

Automatically apply the Wayne County expense standards, and Nebraska income standards to your means test calculation.

Wayne County Bankruptcy Court

Find where to file if you live in Wayne County.

Nebraska Bankruptcy Exemption Laws

Automatically apply the Wayne County expense standards, and Nebraska income standards to your means test calculation.

ADVERTISEMENT -
Top

Means Test Calculator for Wayne County, For Cases Filed on or after April 1, 2023

The free bankruptcy means test calculator is a free, automated version of the official Means Test Form you must file with the court.

This free automated version:

...to help you determine whether you pass the "means test" for Chapter 7 bankruptcy.

more...  

ADVERTISEMENT -

Nebraska Bankruptcy Exemptions - All Categories

Nebraska Exemptions Summary:

Homestead

$60,000 for head of family or unmarried person age 65 or over; cannot exceed 2 lots in city or village, 160 acres elsewhere; sale proceeds exempt 6 months after sale (husband & wife may not double)

Vehicle Exemption

Motor vehicle if used to commute to work (as part of $2,400 tools of trade exemption)

Personal Property

Furniture, household goods & appliances, household electronics, personal computers, books, & musical instruments to $1,500
Equipment or tools including a vehicle used in/or for commuting to principal place of business to $2,400 (husband & wife may double)

Wild Card

$2,500 of any personal property, except wages, in lieu of homestead

more...