Bristol, CT Consumer Law

 
Bristol, Connecticut 06010
@
Law:

 
Connecticut Flag
 

Welcome to LegalConsumer.com

We offer free tools and information to help Connecticut consumers assert their rights under state and federal laws. 

We cover Bankruptcy, Probate & Inheritance LawUnemployment BenefitsWage & Hour Laws, Obamacare (ACA -Affordable Care Act), Child Custody Law, and Democracy & Voting Rights.

Access to Justice for Connecticut Consumers

LegalConsumer.com has been providing free tools and information to Connecticut consumers since 2006. Our seasoned lawyer editors have been translating legalese into plain English for over 35 years.



Tools and Resources for Bristol, CT Consumers

Connecticut Inheritance Law & Probate Procedure


Connecticut Wage & Hour Law

  • Connecticut Minimum Wage:  
    • The minimum wage in Connecticut is $15.69 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in Connecticut must be paid at least $15.69 an hour. 

      Hartford County Minimum Wage

      The minimum wage in Hartford County is $15 an hour, the state minimum wage.  

  • Overtime Pay: Every state has rules about weekly maximum hours and overtime. Learn about the overtime laws in Connecticut and whether they apply to you.
  • Wage Claims: If you're being unlawfully underpaid, you need to learn how to file a "Wage Claim" in Connecticut. 
  • Tips : Every state has special pay rates for tipped workers. Find out the rules for tipped workers in Connecticut.
    • In Connecticut, your employer may pay you a minimum wage of $6.38 an hour (or $8.23 an hour, if you work as a bartender), as long as you earn enough in tips to bring your total hourly pay up to the full minimum wage, $15.69 an hour. If you don’t earn enough in tips to bring your compensation to the full minimum wage, your employer must make up the difference.

  • State Labor Board:

Connecticut Unemployment Benefits

  • Benefit Amounts in Connecticut: Learn how unemployment works, how much you'll get, and for how long.
    • In Connecticut, unemployment benefits range from $15 per week to $685 per week.
    • Formula:

      Your weekly benefit amount in Connecticut will be the average of your quarterly earnings during the two highest paid quarters of the base period, divided by 26. For example, if you earned $5,000 in your highest paid quarter and $4,000 in your next highest paid quarter, your average quarterly earnings would be $4,500. And your weekly benefit would be about $173 ($4,500 divided by 26). 

    • Duration:

      In Connecticut, you can receive unemployment benefits for a maximum of 26 weeks under state law. 

  • Eligibility: >Whether you qualify for unemployment.
  • How to Apply: How to apply for unemployment in Connecticut.
  • Unemployment Office Near Me? How to find your local unemployment office.

Bankruptcy & Debt


Child Custody & Family Courts in Connecticut 


Connecticut Obamacare


Democracy In Connecticut, Hartford County, Bristol 


Find a Lawyer in Bristol, CT