Riverside County, CA Consumer Law

 
Riverside, California 92501
@
Law:

 
California Flag
 

Welcome to LegalConsumer.com

We offer free tools and information to help California consumers assert their rights under state and federal laws. 

We cover Bankruptcy, Probate & Inheritance LawUnemployment BenefitsWage & Hour Laws, Obamacare (ACA -Affordable Care Act), Child Custody Law, and Democracy & Voting Rights.

Access to Justice for California Consumers

LegalConsumer.com has been providing free tools and information to California consumers since 2006. Our seasoned lawyer editors have been translating legalese into plain English for over 35 years.



Tools and Resources for Riverside County, CA Consumers

California Inheritance Law & Probate Procedure

  • California PROBATE COURT FINDER:
  • How Probate Works in California: How to handle the probate of an inheritance at Riverside County's probate court.
  • Small Estates Procedures in California: Learn how to use California's Small Estate procedures that can save you time and money.
    • In California, there is an Affidavit procedure available as long as the personal property does not exceed $184,000. There's a 40-day waiting period. Cal. Prob. Code 13050.

      There's also an Affidavit procedure that you can use if you have real property worth less than $50,000 (of which there is not much in the Golden State); there's a six month waiting period for this. Cal. Prob. Code 13200 and following.

       You can also use an Affidavit to collect up to $15,000 of salary and other compensation (including unused vacation time) owed to the deceased spouse. Cal. Prob. Code 13600.

      There's also a summary probate procedure that's available for estates worth less than $150,000. This dollar value doesn't count real property outside of California, property that passes by joint tenancy, property left outright to a surviving spouse, life insurance or other assets that pass by beneficiary designation, and property held in living trusts. Cal. Prob. Code 13150 and following.

  • California Estate Taxes:
    • California, like most states, does not impose an estate or inheritance tax. Only a few states do.

  • Avoiding Probate in California. Find out what property bypasses probate death and goes directly to beneficiaries. such as:
    • Transfer on Death Deeds (TODDs)
    • California has allowed TODDs since 2016. However, it recently revised its law in 2022 and now requires a few more formalities when creating one, and for the beneficiary when claiming the property after the original dies. But it still avoids probate.


California Wage & Hour Law

  • California Minimum Wage:  
    • The minimum wage in California is $16 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in The Golden State must be paid at least $16 an hour. 

      As of April 1, 2024, fast food workers minimum wage is $20 per hour. 

      Quite a few local governments in California have passed ordinances establishing a higher minimum wage. If you work in one of these cities or counties, you are entitled to earn the higher local minimum wage amount.

      Riverside County Minimum Wage

      The minimum wage in Riverside County is $16 an hour, the state minimum wage. However, cities and counties in California are free to adopt their own higher minimum wage, and dozens of cities and counties across the country have done so. To find out whether Riverside County has passed its own minimum wage law since we last updated, visit https://rivco.org/.

      Riverside Minimum Wage

      The minimum wage in Riverside, California, is $16 an hour, the state minimum wage. However, cities in California are free to adopt their own higher minimum wage, and many have done so. To find out whether Riverside has passed its own minimum wage law since we last updated, visit the city's website at https://riversideca.gov/

  • Overtime Pay: Every state has rules about weekly maximum hours and overtime. Learn about the overtime laws in California and whether they apply to you.
  • Wage Claims: If you're being unlawfully underpaid, you need to learn how to file a "Wage Claim" in California. 
  • Tips : Every state has special pay rates for tipped workers. Find out the rules for tipped workers in California.
    • The tipped minimum wage in California is the same as the regular minimum wage: $16 an hour. Tips don't count against the employer's obligation to pay the minimum wage.

  • State Labor Board:

California Unemployment Benefits


Bankruptcy & Debt


Child Custody & Family Courts in California 


California Obamacare


Democracy In California, Riverside County, Riverside 


Find a Lawyer in Riverside County, CA