Hennepin County, MN Consumer Law

 
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55401
@
Law:

 
Minnesota Flag
 

Welcome to LegalConsumer.com

We offer free tools and information to help Minnesota consumers assert their rights under state and federal laws. 

We cover Bankruptcy, Probate & Inheritance LawUnemployment BenefitsWage & Hour Laws, Obamacare (ACA -Affordable Care Act), Child Custody Law, and Democracy & Voting Rights.

Access to Justice for Minnesota Consumers

LegalConsumer.com has been providing free tools and information to Minnesota consumers since 2006. Our seasoned lawyer editors have been translating legalese into plain English for over 35 years.



Tools and Resources for Hennepin County, MN Consumers

Minnesota Inheritance Law & Probate Procedure


Minnesota Wage & Hour Law

  • Minnesota Minimum Wage:  
    • The minimum wage in Minnesota is $10.85 an hour; for employers with annual sales volume of less than $500,000, the state minimum wage is $8.85 an hour. Because both of these rates are higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in Minnesota must be paid at least $10.85 or $8.85 an hour, depending on their employer's sales. 

      Hennepin County Minimum Wage

      The minimum wage in Hennepin County is $10.85 an hour, the state minimum wage. However, cities and counties in Minnesota are free to adopt their own higher minimum wage, and dozens of cities and counties across the country have done so. To find out whether Hennepin County has passed its own minimum wage law since we last updated, visit https://www.hennepin.us/.

      Minneapolis Minimum Wage

      The current minimum wage in Minneapolis is $15.57 an hour for those who work for an employer with more than 100 employees, or $14.50 for those who work for smaller employers (those with 100 employees or fewer).

  • Overtime Pay: Every state has rules about weekly maximum hours and overtime. Learn about the overtime laws in Minnesota and whether they apply to you.
  • Wage Claims: If you're being unlawfully underpaid, you need to learn how to file a "Wage Claim" in Minnesota. 
  • Tips : Every state has special pay rates for tipped workers. Find out the rules for tipped workers in Minnesota.
    • The tipped minimum wage in Minnesota is the same as the regular minimum wage: $10.85 an hour. Tips don't count against the employer's obligation to pay the minimum wage. 

  • State Labor Board:

Minnesota Unemployment Benefits


Bankruptcy & Debt


Child Custody & Family Courts in Minnesota 


Minnesota Obamacare


Democracy In Minnesota, Hennepin County, Minneapolis 


Find a Lawyer in Hennepin County, MN