Bergen County, NJ Consumer Law

 
Hackensack, New Jersey 07601
@
Law:

 
New Jersey Flag
 

Welcome to LegalConsumer.com

We offer free tools and information to help New Jersey consumers assert their rights under state and federal laws. 

We cover Bankruptcy, Probate & Inheritance LawUnemployment BenefitsWage & Hour Laws, Obamacare (ACA -Affordable Care Act), Child Custody Law, and Democracy & Voting Rights.

Access to Justice for New Jersey Consumers

LegalConsumer.com has been providing free tools and information to New Jersey consumers since 2006. Our seasoned lawyer editors have been translating legalese into plain English for over 35 years.



Tools and Resources for Bergen County, NJ Consumers

New Jersey Inheritance Law & Probate Procedure


New Jersey Wage & Hour Law

  • New Jersey Minimum Wage:  
    • The minimum wage in New Jersey is $15.13 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in The Garden State must be paid at least $15.13 an hour. (Employers with five or fewer employees may pay a slightly lower minimum wage; long-term care workers have a slightly higher minimum wage.)

      Bergen County Minimum Wage

      The minimum wage in Bergen County is $15.13 an hour, the state minimum wage. However, cities and counties in New Jersey are free to adopt their own higher minimum wage, and dozens of cities and counties across the country have done so. To find out whether Bergen County has passed its own minimum wage law since we last updated, visit https://www.co.bergen.nj.us/.

  • Overtime Pay: Every state has rules about weekly maximum hours and overtime. Learn about the overtime laws in New Jersey and whether they apply to you.
  • Wage Claims: If you're being unlawfully underpaid, you need to learn how to file a "Wage Claim" in New Jersey. 
  • Tips : Every state has special pay rates for tipped workers. Find out the rules for tipped workers in New Jersey.
    • In New Jersey, your employer may pay you a minimum wage of $5.26 an hour, as long as you earn enough in tips to bring your total hourly pay up to the full minimum wage, $15.13 an hour. If you don’t earn enough in tips to bring your compensation to the full minimum wage, your employer must make up the difference.

  • State Labor Board:

New Jersey Unemployment Benefits


Bankruptcy & Debt


Child Custody & Family Courts in New Jersey 


New Jersey Obamacare


Democracy In New Jersey, Bergen County, Hackensack 


Find a Lawyer in Bergen County, NJ