Minimum Wage in Pulaski County, Arkansas
Wage & Hour Law > US Minimum Wage > Arkansas > Pulaski County Minimum Wage
Little Rock, AR Minimum Wage and Wage Claims
What Is the Minimum Wage in Little Rock, AR?
You are entitled to the highest minimum wage that applies where you work, whether set by your city, county, or state government. (Most cities and counties don’t have their own minimum wage laws.)
Little Rock Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in Little Rock is $11 an hour, the state minimum wage. Arkansas law prohibits city and county governments from adopting a local minimum wage that's higher that the state minimum wage.
Pulaski County Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in Pulaski County is $11 an hour, the state minimum wage. To find out if Pulaski County has passed its own minimum wage law, visit https://pulaskicounty.net/.
Arkansas Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in Arkansas is $11 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in Arkansas must be paid at least $11 an hour.
Learn more about the minimum wage in Arkansas at https://www.labor.arkansas.gov/divisions/labor-standards/minimum-wage-and-overtime/.
What Is the Tipped Minimum Wage in Little Rock, AR?
Some states and local governments allow employers to pay tipped employees a lower minimum hourly wage; others don't.
Arkansas Tipped Minimum Wage
In Arkansas, your employer may pay you a minimum wage of $2.63 an hour, as long as you earn enough in tips to bring your total hourly pay up to the full minimum wage, $11 an hour. If you don’t earn enough in tips to bring your compensation to the full minimum wage, your employer must make up the difference.
Who Enforces Little Rock, AR Minimum Wage Laws?
Arkansas Enforcement Agency
If you have questions about Arkansas's minimum wage, contact the
Arkansas Department of Labor & Licensing
Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing
900 W Capitol Ave, Suite 400
Little Rock, AR 72201
How to File a Wage Claim in Little Rock, AR
If you were not paid the minimum wage in Little Rock, AR, you may have the right to file a wage claim or complaint with a government agency. Be sure to look at the wage claim materials (below) for the agency that enforces the law you believe was violated, whether city, county, or state.
All jurisdictions impose a time limit on how far back you may claim unpaid wages, so it's important to file your claim quickly. There may be other restrictions on the claims you may file, such as dollar-amount limits or limits on the agency’s ability to force employers to comply with the law. You may be required to ask your employer to pay you correctly before you file a claim. And, you almost always have the option to go straight to court and file a lawsuit instead of filing a wage claim with a government agency. For these reasons, it often makes sense to talk to an experienced wage and hour lawyer to make sure you know all of your options, understand the strength of your claims, and decide how to proceed.
Filing a Wage Claim with the Arkansas Department of Labor & Licensing
You can file a minimum wage claim online, at the Arkansas Department of Labor & Licensing website. For other wage claims (for example, if you didn’t receive your final paycheck or your employer took unauthorized deductions from your pay), see https://www.labor.arkansas.gov/divisions/labor-standards/wage-claims/.
Get Help With Little Rock, AR Wage Claims and Lawsuits
If you are considering filing a wage claim or lawsuit, you may want to speak to a local wage and hour attorney. The resources below can help you find a lawyer near you.
Little Rock, AR Free or Low-Cost Legal Assistance
Legal aid offices provide free legal assistance to low-income people. Typically, you must qualify for legal aid based on your income. Visit Arkansas Law Help to find local resources and legal aid offices.
Some law schools have free legal clinics that provide assistance with specific problems, including wage and hour issues and other employment matters. Find a list of law schools offering legal clinics on a variety of issues at the American Bar Association Center for Pro Bono.
Little Rock, AR Lawyer Directories
Lawyer Referral Services in Arkansas. Check with the Arkansas Bar Association for information on lawyer referral services in Little Rock, AR. Lawyer referral services match people with attorneys who specialize in particular legal fields, such as wage and hour law.
NELA’s “Find-A-Lawyer” Service. Search the National Employment Lawyer’s Association’s membership to find Little Rock, AR lawyers who specialize in wage and hour claims and other employment issues.