Newport, AR Consumer Law

 
Newport, Arkansas 72112
@
Law:

 
Arkansas Flag
 

Welcome to LegalConsumer.com

Free legal information and tools to help you assert your rights under federal, state, and local consumer laws that apply to Newport, AR. 

We cover Bankruptcy, Probate & Arkansas Inheritance LawUnemployment BenefitsWage & Hour Laws, and Democracy & Voting Rights.

Access to Justice for Arkansas Consumers

LegalConsumer.com has been providing free tools and information to Arkansas consumers since 2006.



Free Tools and Information for Newport, AR Consumers

Arkansas Inheritance Law & Probate Procedure


Arkansas Wage & Hour Law

  • Arkansas Minimum Wage:  
    • The minimum wage in Arkansas is $11 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in Arkansas must be paid at least $11 an hour. 

  • Overtime Pay: Every state has rules about weekly maximum hours and overtime. Learn about the overtime laws in Arkansas and whether they apply to you.
  • Wage Claims: If you're being unlawfully underpaid, you need to learn how to file a "Wage Claim" in Arkansas. 
  • Tips : Every state has special pay rates for tipped workers. Find out the rules for tipped workers in Arkansas.
    • In Arkansas, your employer may pay you a minimum wage of $2.63 an hour, as long as you earn enough in tips to bring your total hourly pay up to the full minimum wage, $11 an hour. If you don’t earn enough in tips to bring your compensation to the full minimum wage, your employer must make up the difference.


Bankruptcy & Debt

  • MEANS TEST CALCULATOR
    • for Jackson County, Arkansas (applies the state and county income and expense standards into your means test calculation. Updated with the latest median income and expense standards for May 15, 2024)
  • Arkansas BANKRUPTCY EXEMPTION FINDER: Search detailed listings of bankruptcy exemptions under Arkansas law and Federal law, for use in filing out Schedule C, when you file for bankruptcy. 
    • Federal Exemptions available in Arkansas?:  
      • Yes. Federal bankruptcy exemptions are available in Arkansas. Ark. Code Ann. § 16-66-217

    • Arkansas Homestead Exemption
      • For married person or head of family: unlimited exemption on real or personal property used as residence to 1/4 acre in city, town, or village, or 80 acres elsewhere; if property is between 1/4 to 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 80-160 acres elsewhere, additional limit is $2,500; homestead may not exceed 1 acre in city, town, or village, or 160 acres elsewhere (husband & wife may not double)

    • Arkansas Vehicle Exemption
      • $200 is maximum personal property exemption allowed under the Arkansas Constitution, although the statute allows an exemption of $1,200. Courts have held that amounts in excess of the Arkansas constitution are unconstitutional.

  • Arkansas BANKRUPTCY COURT ESSENTIAL INFO: Get information about using your local bankruptcy court.

    Arkansas is divided into 2 federal districts with main cities in

  • FREE BANKRUPTCY FORMS:
    We'll tell you which bankruptcy forms you need and where to find them.

Arkansas Unemployment Benefits


Democracy In Arkansas, Jackson County, Newport 


Find a Lawyer in Newport, AR