Virginia Consumer Law

Annandale, Virginia 22003

Virginia Flag

Welcome to

Free legal information and tools to help you assert your rights under federal, state, and local consumer laws that apply to Virginia. 

We cover Bankruptcy, Probate & Virginia Inheritance LawUnemployment BenefitsWage & Hour Laws, and Democracy & Voting Rights.

Access to Justice for Virginia Consumers has been providing free tools and information to Virginia consumers since 2006.

Free Tools and Information for Virginia Consumers

Virginia Inheritance Law & Probate Procedure

Virginia Wage & Hour Law

  • Virginia Minimum Wage:  
    • The minimum wage in Virginia is $12 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour, employees in Virginia must be paid at least $12 an hour.

      Fairfax County Minimum Wage

      The minimum wage in Fairfax County is $12 an hour, the state minimum wage. 

  • Overtime Pay: Every state has rules about weekly maximum hours and overtime. Learn about the overtime laws in Virginia and whether they apply to you.
  • Wage Claims: If you're being unlawfully underpaid, you need to learn how to file a "Wage Claim" in Virginia. 
  • Tips : Every state has special pay rates for tipped workers. Find out the rules for tipped workers in Virginia.
    • In Virginia, your employer may pay you a minimum wage of $2.13 an hour, as long as you earn enough in tips to bring your total hourly pay up to the full minimum wage, $12 an hour. If you don’t earn enough in tips to bring your compensation to the full minimum wage, your employer must make up the difference.

Bankruptcy & Debt

Virginia Unemployment Benefits

Democracy In Virginia, Your County, your city 

Find a Lawyer in Virginia