Alaska Wage & Hour Law

Anchorage, Alaska 99501

What You Need to Know About Alaska Minimum Wage, Overtime, and Other Wage Claims

You can recover unpaid wages, overtime, and tips in Alaska if you know your rights and how to enforce them. Does your employer owe you unpaid wages or overtime? Or, maybe you need information on the breaks you’re entitled to, overtime rules, or your right to tips. If so, you'll find the information you need on this site to learn what you can do in Alaska to get the money you have earned.

Here, we answer many common questions about wage and hour law in Alaska, including:


A few things to keep in mind as you explore this site:

1. Wage and hour laws differ from state to state.

Most states have enacted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures for employees to follow if they have been treated unfairly. These regulations and procedures vary from state to state. Start by finding out about your rights to pay in Alaska.

2. Some states simply adopt the federal minimum wage and overtime standards, but most states have higher standards.

The U.S. Department of Labor  covers minimum wage, overtime, and other wage and hour matters. In states that have not adopted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures, your rights are set out by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

The Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development is the agency that enforces labor laws in Alaska. Check there to find out more about minimum wage and overtime rules in Alaska.

The minimum wage in Alaska is $11.73 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in Alaska must be paid at least $11.73 an hour. 

Anchorage Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Anchorage, Alaska, is $11.73 an hour, the state minimum wage. 


Anchorage Borough Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Anchorage Borough is currently $11.73 an hour, the state minimum wage.


Check Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development to find out more.

3. You are entitled to certain payments when your employment ends.

Your final paycheck must include certain amounts, regardless of whether you resigned, were laid off, or were fired. Find out whether your former employer met Alaska’s final paycheck requirements

If you are fired, laid off, or otherwise let go by your employer in Alaska, your employer  must pay your final paycheck within three working days after the date of termination. If you quit, you must be paid your final paycheck by the next regular payday that is at least three working days after the day you gave notice of quitting.

Wage & Hour by Zip Code

Your Rights to Wages


Hours and Time Off
Work Hours and Time Off

Job Classification & Overtime

Wage and Hour Enforcement

Wage and Hour Lawyers