Rhode Island Wage & Hour Law

Pawtucket, Rhode Island 02860

What You Need to Know About Rhode Island Minimum Wage, Overtime, and Other Wage Claims

You can recover unpaid wages, overtime, and tips in Rhode Island if you know your rights and how to enforce them. Does your employer owe you unpaid wages or overtime? Or, maybe you need information on the breaks you’re entitled to, overtime rules, or your right to tips. If so, you'll find the information you need on this site to learn what you can do in Rhode Island to get the money you have earned.

Here, we answer many common questions about wage and hour law in Rhode Island, including:


A few things to keep in mind as you explore this site:

1. Wage and hour laws differ from state to state.

Most states have enacted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures for employees to follow if they have been treated unfairly. These regulations and procedures vary from state to state. Start by finding out about your rights to pay in Rhode Island.

2. Some states simply adopt the federal minimum wage and overtime standards, but most states have higher standards.

The U.S. Department of Labor  covers minimum wage, overtime, and other wage and hour matters. In states that have not adopted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures, your rights are set out by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training is the agency that enforces labor laws in Rhode Island. Check there to find out more about minimum wage and overtime rules in Rhode Island.

The minimum wage in Rhode Island is $14 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees must be paid at least $14 an hour. 


Providence County Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Providence County is $14 an hour, the state minimum wage. Rhode Island law prohibits city and county governments from adopting a local minimum wage that's higher than the state minimum wage. 


Check Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training to find out more.

3. You are entitled to certain payments when your employment ends.

Your final paycheck must include certain amounts, regardless of whether you resigned, were laid off, or were fired. Find out whether your former employer met Rhode Island’s final paycheck requirements

If you leave your job for any reason in Rhode Island, whether by your own choice or your employer's action, your employer must pay your final paycheck on or before the next regular payday. If you lose your job as a result of your employer closing, merging, or moving its business out of state, your employer must pay your final paycheck within 24 hours of the time of your separation.

Rhode Island
Wage & Hour by Zip Code

Your Rights to Wages


Hours and Time Off
Work Hours and Time Off

Job Classification & Overtime

Wage and Hour Enforcement

Wage and Hour Lawyers