Tennessee Wage & Hour Law

Cordova, Tennessee 38016

What You Need to Know About Tennessee Minimum Wage, Overtime, and Other Wage Claims

You can recover unpaid wages, overtime, and tips in Tennessee if you know your rights and how to enforce them. Does your employer owe you unpaid wages or overtime? Or, maybe you need information on the breaks you’re entitled to, overtime rules, or your right to tips. If so, you'll find the information you need on this site to learn what you can do in Tennessee to get the money you have earned.

Here, we answer many common questions about wage and hour law in Tennessee, including:


A few things to keep in mind as you explore this site:

1. Wage and hour laws differ from state to state.

Most states have enacted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures for employees to follow if they have been treated unfairly. These regulations and procedures vary from state to state. Start by finding out about your rights to pay in Tennessee.

2. Some states simply adopt the federal minimum wage and overtime standards, but most states have higher standards.

The U.S. Department of Labor  covers minimum wage, overtime, and other wage and hour matters. In states that have not adopted their own wage and hour regulations and procedures, your rights are set out by the U.S. Department of Labor. 

The Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development is the agency that enforces labor laws in Tennessee. Check there to find out more about minimum wage and overtime rules in Tennessee.

Tennessee does not have its own minimum wage law. Therefore, employees in The Volunteer State are entitled to earn at least the federal minimum wage, $7.25 an hour. 


Shelby County Minimum Wage

The minimum wage in Shelby County is $7.25 an hour, the federal minimum wage. Tennessee law prohibits city and county governments from adopting a local minimum wage that's higher than the federal minimum wage. 


Check Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development to find out more.

3. You are entitled to certain payments when your employment ends.

Your final paycheck must include certain amounts, regardless of whether you resigned, were laid off, or were fired. Find out whether your former employer met Tennessee’s final paycheck requirements

If you leave your job for any reason in Tennessee, whether by your own choice or your employer's action, your employer must pay your final paycheck on the next regular payday or within 21 days, whichever is later.

Wage & Hour by Zip Code

Your Rights to Wages


Hours and Time Off
Work Hours and Time Off

Job Classification & Overtime

Wage and Hour Enforcement

Wage and Hour Lawyers