Minimum Wage in Alameda County, California
Wage & Hour Law > US Minimum Wage > California > Alameda County Minimum Wage
Hayward, CA Minimum Wage and Wage Claims
What Is the Minimum Wage in Hayward, CA?
You are entitled to the highest minimum wage that applies where you work, whether set by your city, county, or state government. (Most cities and counties don’t have their own minimum wage laws.)
Hayward Minimum Wage
In the city of Hayward, the minimum wage for employees working for employers of 26 or more employees is $16.34 an hour currently. If you work for an employer with fewer than 25 employees, the minimum wage is currently $15.50 an hour.
Learn more about the minimum wage of the city of Hayward at
Alameda County Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in Alameda County is $15.50 an hour, the state minimum wage. However, cities and counties in California are free to adopt their own higher minimum wage, and dozens of cities and counties across the country have done so. To find out whether Alameda County has passed its own minimum wage law since we last updated, visit http://www.acgov.org/.
California Minimum Wage
The minimum wage in California is $15.50 an hour. Because this is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25, employees in The Golden State must be paid at least $15.50 an hour.
Quite a few local governments in California have passed ordinances establishing a higher minimum wage. If you work in one of these cities or counties, you are entitled to earn the higher local minimum wage amount.
Learn more about California's minimum wage at https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/faq_minimumwage.htm.
What Is the Tipped Minimum Wage in Hayward, CA?
Some states and local governments allow employers to pay tipped employees a lower minimum hourly wage; others don't.
Tipped Minimum Wage in Hayward
In the city of Hayward, the tipped minimum wage for employees working for employers of 26 or more employees is $16.34an hour currently. If you work for an employer with fewer than 25 employees, the tipped minimum wage is currently $15.50 an hour. Tips do not count against the minimum wage required.
California Tipped Minimum Wage
The tipped minimum wage in California is the same as the regular minimum wage: $15.50 an hour. Tips don't count against the employer's obligation to pay the minimum wage.
Who Enforces Hayward, CA Minimum Wage Laws?
Hayward Enforcement Agency
If you have questions about the city of Hayward’s minimum wage law, contact the:
Economic Development Division
777 B Street
Hayward, CA 94541
Phone: (510) 583-5545
California Enforcement Agency
If you have questions about California's minimum wage, contact the
California Department of Industrial Relations
Phone: (408) 277-1266
1515 Clay St.
Oakland, CA 94612
How to File a Wage Claim in Hayward, CA
If you were not paid the minimum wage in Hayward, CA, you may have the right to file a wage claim or complaint with a government agency. Be sure to look at the wage claim materials (below) for the agency that enforces the law you believe was violated, whether city, county, or state.
All jurisdictions impose a time limit on how far back you may claim unpaid wages, so it's important to file your claim quickly. There may be other restrictions on the claims you may file, such as dollar-amount limits or limits on the agency’s ability to force employers to comply with the law. You may be required to ask your employer to pay you correctly before you file a claim. And, you almost always have the option to go straight to court and file a lawsuit instead of filing a wage claim with a government agency. For these reasons, it often makes sense to talk to an experienced wage and hour lawyer to make sure you know all of your options, understand the strength of your claims, and decide how to proceed.
Filing a Wage Complaint with the Economic Development Division
If you were not paid the minimum wage in Hayward, you may file a wage complaint with the city of Hayward. Typically, you must file a form or provide information to the agency. Learn more about filing a wage complaint for violation of Hayward’s minimum wage law.
Filing a Wage Claim with the California Department of Industrial Relations
You can find instructions and links to the forms to file a wage claim at the California Department of Industrial Relations website.
Get Help With Hayward, CA Wage Claims and Lawsuits
If you are considering filing a wage claim or lawsuit, you may want to speak to a local wage and hour attorney. The resources below can help you find a lawyer near you.
Hayward, CA Free or Low-Cost Legal Assistance
Legal aid offices provide free legal assistance to low-income people. Typically, you must qualify for legal aid based on your income. Visit LawHelpCA to find local resources and legal aid offices.
Some law schools have free legal clinics that provide assistance with specific problems, including wage and hour issues and other employment matters. Find a list of law schools offering legal clinics on a variety of issues at the American Bar Association Center for Pro Bono.
Hayward, CA Lawyer Directories
Lawyer Referral Services in California. Check with the State Bar of California for information on lawyer referral services in Hayward, CA. Lawyer referral services match people with attorneys who specialize in particular legal fields, such as wage and hour law.
NELA’s “Find-A-Lawyer” Service. Search the National Employment Lawyer’s Association’s membership to find Hayward, CA lawyers who specialize in wage and hour claims and other employment issues.